Performance Thursday, April 29, 2010 | 8 PM

Maurizio Pollini

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
The great Italian virtuoso continues his celebration of the Chopin bicentenary with a varied program, ranging from delicate nocturnes to the alternately wistful and surging Ballade in F Minor. Pollini plays it all with an elegant and assured understanding of every musical detail. His 2007 recording of the Chopin Nocturnes won a Grammy Award.


  • Maurizio Pollini, Piano


  • CHOPIN Two Nocturnes, Op. 48
  • CHOPIN Fantasy in F Minor, Op. 49
  • CHOPIN Sonata No. 2
  • CHOPIN Four Mazurkas, Op. 30
  • CHOPIN Polonaise in F-sharp Minor, Op. 44
  • CHOPIN Ballade No. 4 in F Minor, Op. 52
  • CHOPIN Polonaise in A-flat Major, Op. 53

  • Encore:
  • CHOPIN Scherzo No. 2

  • Program is approximately 1 hour, 50 minutes, including one intermission


  • Maurizio Pollini

    Born in 1942, Maurizio Pollini studied with Carlo Lonati and Carlo Vidusso. After winning First Prize at the Fryderyk Chopin International Piano Competition in 1960, he established an international career, performing in the world's major concert halls and working with the most distinguished orchestras and conductors, including Karl Böhm, Sergiu Celibidache, Herbert von Karajan, Claudio Abbado, Pierre Boulez, Riccardo Chailly, Zubin Mehta, Wolfgang Sawallisch, and Riccardo Muti.

    In 1995, Mr. Pollini opened the Pierre Boulez Festival in Tokyo. That same year and in 1999, he organized and performed in his own concert series at the Salzburger Festspiele as well as in New York (Carnegie Hall), Paris (Cité de la musique), Tokyo, and Rome (Auditorium Parco Della Musica ). These varied programs included both chamber and orchestral performances, from Gesualdo and Monteverdi to contemporary music. In 2004, Mr. Pollini was the Artist Étoile at the Lucerne Festival, performing a recital and orchestral concerts conducted by Abbado and Boulez.

    Mr. Pollini's repertoire ranges from Bach to contemporary composers, including premiere performances of works by Giacomo Manzoni, Luigi Nono, and Salvatore Sciarrino, as well as the complete Beethoven sonatas, which he has performed in Berlin, Munich, Milan, New York, London, Vienna, and Paris. His recordings of Classical, Romantic, and contemporary repertoire have received critical acclaim worldwide; Mr. Pollini's discs of Schoenberg's complete works for piano, as well as works by Berg, Webern, Manzoni, Nono, Boulez, and Stockhausen, are a testament to his great passion for 20th-century music. For his recording of Chopin nocturnes, he received a Disco d'Oro and a Grammy Award in 2007; he has also received an ECHO Klassik award, a Choc de la Musique, a Victoires de la Musique, and a Diapason d'Or de l'Année. Mr. Pollini's recording of Mozart piano concertos-K. 453 and K. 467-with the Vienna Philharmonic and a disc dedicated to Chopin were both released in 2008.

    Mr. Pollini is the recipient of the Vienna Philharmonic Ehrenring (1987), the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize (1966), the "A Life for Music-Arthur Rubinstein" Prize (1999), and the Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli Prize (2000).
    More Info

Sponsored by Ernst & Young LLP