Performance Saturday, November 12, 2011 | 7:30 PM

Angelika Kirchschlager
Jean-Yves Thibaudet

Zankel Hall
Angelika Kirchschlager’s passion is song. “I love to think about what the composer did with a word,” she says, “It tells you so much about the composer. You know how he thought about the poem’s essence, what it meant to him.” On this concert, the stunning mezzo-soprano, together with Jean-Yves Thibaudet, gets to the heart of well-known Brahms and songs by Liszt, revealing an undeservedly little-known side of the fiery Romantic composer.


  • Angelika Kirchschlager, Mezzo-Soprano
  • Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Piano


  • BRAHMS "Mein Mädel hat einen Rosenmund"
  • BRAHMS "Soll sich der Mond nicht heller scheinen"
  • BRAHMS "Da unten im Tale"
  • BRAHMS "Feinsliebchen, du sollst mir nicht barfuss gehn"
  • BRAHMS Andante teneramente from Intermezzo in A Major, Op. 118, No. 2
  • BRAHMS "Junge Lieder I," Op. 63, No. 5
  • BRAHMS "Über die Heide," Op. 86, No. 4
  • BRAHMS "Der Gang zum Liebchen," Op. 48, No. 1
  • BRAHMS "Nachtwandler," Op. 86, No. 3
  • BRAHMS "Versunken," Op. 86, No. 5
  • BRAHMS "O Komme, holde Sommernacht," Op. 58, No. 4
  • BRAHMS "Therese," Op. 86, No. 1
  • BRAHMS "Von ewiger Liebe," Op. 43, No. 1
  • LISZT "Im Rhein, im schönen Strome"
  • LISZT "Vergiftet sind meine Lieder"
  • LISZT "Über allen gipfeln ist Ruh"
  • LISZT Lento placido from Consolations
  • LISZT "Es war ein König in Thule"
  • LISZT "O lieb, so lang du lieben kannst"
  • LISZT "Die drei Zigeuner"
  • LISZT "Der du von dem Himmel bist"

  • Encores:
  • LISZT "Es muss ein Wunderbares sein"
  • POULENC "Hôtel"
  • BRAHMS "Sandmännchen"



    Jean-Yves Thibaudet

    One of today's most sought-after soloists, pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet has the rare ability to combine poetic musical sensibilities with dazzling technical prowess. 

    After three striking summer appearances at Tanglewood (in which he played the complete piano works of Ravel), Mr. Thibaudet began his 2011-2012 schedule with a European tour, along with Charles Dutoit and The Philadelphia Orchestra; he then performed with the San Diego Symphony at its season-opening gala in October. This fall, he tours Europe with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, and the US with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. After New York performances with the New York Philharmonic for its PBS-televised New Year's Eve gala and with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Mr. Thibaudet will conclude his season with Debussy recitals in Germany and France to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the composer's birth.

    Mr. Thibaudet has released more than 40 albums with Decca, which have earned a Deutscher Schallplattenpreis, Diapason d'Or, CHOC du Monde de la Musique, Gramophone Award, Edison Award, and two ECHO Klassik awards.

    Mr. Thibaudet was born in Lyon, France, where he began his piano studies at age five and made his first public appearance at age seven. At 12, he entered the Conservatoire de Paris to study with Aldo Ciccolini and Lucette Descaves, a friend and collaborator of Ravel. At age 15, he won the Premier prix du Conservatoire, followed by the Young Concert Artists International Auditions in New York City three years later. In 2001, the Republic of France awarded Mr. Thibaudet the prestigious Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. The following year, he was awarded the Premio Pegasus from the Spoleto Festival in Italy for his artistic achievements and his longstanding involvement with the festival. In 2007, he was awarded the Victoire d'honneur, a lifetime career achievement award and the highest honor given by France's Victoires de la Musique. On June 18, 2010, the Hollywood Bowl honored Mr. Thibaudet for his musical achievements by inducting him into its Hall of Fame.

    More Info


Brahms "O komme, holde Sommernacht vershwiegen", song for voice and piano, Op. 58/4
Angelika Kirchschlager, Soprano; Graham Johnson, Piano

This concert and the Pure Voice series are sponsored by the Jean & Jula Goldwurm Memorial Foundation in memory of Jula Goldwurm.

You May Also Like

Saturday, May 10, 2014
Spring For Music: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, May 15, 2014
Emanuel Ax

Sunday, November 16, 2014
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra

Load Testing by Web Performance