Performance Wednesday, October 29, 2014 | 8 PM

Colin Currie
Daniel Druckman
Simon Crawford-Phillips
Philip Moore

Zankel Hall
“There’s just a handful of living composers who can legitimately claim to have altered the direction of musical history, and Steve Reich is one of them,” wrote The Guardian. Two of Reich’s early works, Clapping Music and Drumming, are featured alongside the US premiere of Quartet. Clapping Music is a fascinating exploration of rhythm and syncopation, while the groundbreaking Drumming was conceived after the composer heard master drummers in Ghana.

Part of My Time, My Music.


  • Colin Currie, Percussion
  • Daniel Druckman, Percussion
  • Simon Crawford-Phillips, Piano
  • Philip Moore, Piano
  • Sarah Brailey, Vocalist
  • Jamie Jordan, Vocalist
  • Viola Chan, Piccolo
  • Juilliard Percussion Ensemble


  • Clapping Music
  • Quartet (US Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • Drumming

Event Duration

The printed program will last approximately two hours, including one 20-minute intermission.


Pre-concert talk starts at 7:00 PM in Zankel Hall: Steve Reich and Colin Currie in conversation with Ara Guzelimian, Provost and Dean, The Juilliard School.


Steve Reich's Drumming: Part II
Steve Reich and Musicians
Nonesuch Records

In the Artist's Own Words

The music of Steve Reich, besides being central to the development of music as a whole since his earliest works of the 1960s, is to me a uniquely beautiful, lyrical, and completely captivating world. Utterly distinctive, his harmonic voice is as fascinating as his instinct for instrumental color and combination, his command of rhythm as original as his dexterity with counterpoint and structure. It is simply not possible to imagine our musical lives without him and his astonishing creativity and influence. 

Many of us have had epiphanic moments when performing his pieces. For me, one happened during my first time performing Drumming (for the composer’s 70th birthday celebrations at the BBC Proms in 2006) with the ensemble that became my own unit devoted to his music, The Colin Currie Group. I recall the dizzying effect of the full power of his processes, the realization of certain musical mantras in real time, and the sheer depth of this perfectly simple, yet endlessly complex material. This piece has become a key one for me, and it is a joy to bring it to Carnegie Hall in the composer’s presence.

Quartet is a miraculous new work—one of the most ambitious in Reich’s output and one of the most enthralling. A true piece of chamber music, it requires great sensitivity from the ensemble with the two pairs of musicians combining for a mighty foursome. When I saw the score for the first time, I told the composer that it seemed he was “going-on-80, going-on-18”—such is the immaculate vigor on display here. Furthermore, I’m delighted with the strident and impassioned melodic sense, especially ebullient in the rapturous finale.

Perfectly formed, thoroughly gripping. Thank you, Steve Reich, for all that you have brought us. 

—Colin Currie

This performance is part of Fast Forward.

Part of