Performance Monday, October 6, 2014 | 8 PM

Berliner Philharmoniker

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
“Every kind of orchestral sound that can tickle and seduce the ear was there,” said The Telegraph of Sir Simon Rattle conducting the Berliner Philharmoniker. Rattle and the orchestra premiere a new work by Austrian composer Georg Friedrich Haas and conclude their Schumann symphony cycle with the quintessentially Romantic “Rhenish” (inspired by the Rhine River), and the rarely performed 1841 version of the composer’s Symphony No. 4. This original scoring features lighter orchestral textures and was much admired by Brahms.


  • Berliner Philharmoniker
    Sir Simon Rattle, Music Director and Conductor


  • SCHUMANN Symphony No. 4 (original version, 1841)
  • GEORG FRIEDRICH HAAS dark dreams (US Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall and Berliner Philharmoniker)
  • SCHUMANN Symphony No. 3, "Rhenish"


Schumann's Symphony No. 3, "Rhenish"  (Lebhaft)
Berliner Philharmoniker | Herbert von Karajan, Conductor
Deutsche Grammophon

The Carnegie Hall presentations of the Berliner Philharmoniker are made possible by a leadership gift from Marina Kellen French and the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation.
This performance is part of International Festival of Orchestras I.

You May Also Like

Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Carnegie Hall’s
Opening Night Gala
Berliner Philharmoniker

Thursday, October 2, 2014
Berliner Philharmoniker

Sunday, October 5, 2014
Berliner Philharmoniker