Performance Saturday, November 22, 2014 | 8 PM

Leonidas Kavakos
Yuja Wang

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
The New York Times has cited violinist Leonidas Kavakos’s playing for its “balance of pyrotechnics and lyricism,” while the San Francisco Chronicle called Yuja Wang “… quite simply the most dazzlingly, uncannily gifted pianist in the concert world today.” The superstar duo performs Schumann’s passionate Violin Sonata No. 2 and Brahms’s melodic Violin Sonata No. 2. Written during his years as a student and not published until after his death, Ravel's Violin Sonata is a charmingingly lyrical work, while Respighi's Violin Sonata moves the heart with its haunting slow movement and quickens the pulse with daredevil fireworks in its finale.


  • Leonidas Kavakos, Violin
  • Yuja Wang, Piano


  • BRAHMS Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Major
  • SCHUMANN Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Minor
  • RAVEL Violin Sonata (posthumous)
  • RESPIGHI Violin Sonata


Stravinsky's Suite Italienne
Leonidas Kavakos, Violin | Peter Nagy, Piano

Co-presented with the Onassis Cultural Center NY
This performance is part of Great Artists I, and All-Star Ensembles.

Part of

You May Also Like

Friday, October 24, 2014
Elza van den Heever
Vlad Iftinca

Saturday, January 31, 2015
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Sunday, February 22, 2015
Richard Goode and Friends