Performance Thursday, December 11, 2014 | 8 PM

Yuja Wang

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
The dazzling pianist absolutely everyone is talking about, Yuja Wang astounded Carnegie Hall audiences last season with her solo recital. You cannot miss the return of the musician about whom the San Francisco Chronicle says “is quite simply the most dazzlingly, uncannily gifted pianist in the concert world today, and there’s nothing left to do but sit back, listen, and marvel at her artistry.”


  • Yuja Wang, Piano


  • SCHUBERT / LISZT "Liebesbotschaft" from Schwanengesang, D. 957 / S. 560
  • SCHUBERT / LISZT "Aufenthalt" from Schwanengesang, D. 957 / S. 560
  • SCHUBERT / LISZT "Der Müller und der Bach" from Die schöne Müllerin, D. 795 / S. 565
  • SCHUBERT Piano Sonata in A Major, D. 959
  • SCRIABIN Prelude for the Left Hand, Op. 9, No. 1
  • SCRIABIN Prelude in F-sharp Minor, Op. 11, No. 8
  • SCRIABIN Fantasy in B Minor, Op. 28
  • SCRIABIN Prelude in B-flat Minor, Op. 37, No. 1
  • SCRIABIN Two Poems, Op. 63
  • SCRIABIN Piano Sonata No. 9, Op. 68, "Black Mass"
  • BALAKIREV Islamey

Event Duration

The printed program will last approximately two hours, including one 20-minute intermission.


Scriabin Etude in in C-sharp minor, Op. 8, No. 9
Yuja Wang, Piano
Deutsche Grammophon

At a Glance

Musical transcription is a dying art form in an age that places a premium on originality. Well into the 20th century, however, touring piano virtuosos packed their recital programs with arrangements of music conceived for other instruments or ensembles. Liszt’s scrupulously faithful keyboard versions of Schubert’s lieder remind us that he was a great song composer in his own right, even as his massive A-Major Sonata reveals a new vista of piano writing that Liszt and others would explore.

Scriabin began his career as a Romantic composer-pianist in the Lisztian mold and ended as a proto-Modernist. This evening’s selections range from the lyrical, Chopin-esque idiom of his early genre pieces to the hypnotic repetitions, subterranean rumblings, and satanic outbursts of the late “Black Mass” Sonata.

Another of the 19th century’s great composer-pianists, Balakirev was the guiding light of the group of Russian nationalist composers known as the “Mighty Handful.” His interest in Slavic musical traditions extended to the ethnic groups of Russia’s Far West: Islamey, subtitled an “Oriental Fantasy,” was inspired by Balakirev’s visits to the Caucasus region in the 1860s. Both Liszt and Scriabin had this colorful showpiece in their repertoires.
United logo 13/14
Sponsored by United®, Official Airline of Carnegie Hall

This performance is part of Keyboard Virtuosos II.