Performance Sunday, December 28, 2014 | 2 PM

New York String Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
This concert by the New York String Orchestra bids a romantic farewell to the old year with Tchaikovsky’s melodic Serenade in C Major for Strings, Beethoven’s beloved “Pastoral” Symphony, and Barber’s romantic Violin Concerto with Augustin Hadelich, who “performs like a musician who takes nothing for granted, communicating an expressive, joyful spontaneity” (The New York Times).


  • New York String Orchestra
    Jaime Laredo, Conductor
  • Augustin Hadelich, Violin


  • TCHAIKOVSKY Serenade in C Major for Strings
  • BARBER Violin Concerto
  • BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 6, "Pastoral"

Event Duration

The printed program will last approximately two hours, including one 20-minute intermission.


Beethoven's Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op. 68: V. Allegretto
New York Philharmonic | Leonard Bernstein, Conductor

At a Glance

This afternoon’s program features three seminal works by well-known masters, linked together across the roughly 150-year span of their dates of composition by Romantic ideals. In his Serenade for Strings, Tchaikovsky—a Romantic icon—combines an inward-looking search for emotion and meaning with inspiration from Mozart and his native folk music. Beethoven, the prophet of the Romantic era, finds inspiration in nature and humanity’s relationship to it in his beloved Symphony No. 6, “Pastoral,” and finally, Samuel Barber represents the twilight of Romanticism, his lyrical, melancholic Violin Concerto showcasing the composer’s unique voice and distinctly American, yet cosmopolitan, perspective. Both Tchaikovsky and Barber show off their gifts of melody and breathtaking orchestral color, while Beethoven’s earnest warmth exalts nature and predicts the future of music. Each work is a masterpiece that has now become part of the standard repertoire, beloved by audiences and revered by performers.
This concert is made possible, in part, by an endowment fund for young artists established by Stella and Robert Jones.