Performance Friday, December 5, 2014 | 8 PM

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Haydn’s elegantly lyrical Cello Concerto in C Major casts a fond glance back to the Baroque period. Brahms also looked back to older music by embracing classical forms and revering great composers of the past, including Haydn. His Symphony No. 3 is constructed with the tautness of a Classical-era symphony, but also has a moving autumnal quality. Autumnal sentiments also pervade Strauss’s opera Der Rosenkavalier, a nostalgic tale of love in Vienna in the 18th century. Its opulent scoring, elegant waltzes, and ecstatic love music sing out in an orchestral suite.


  • The Philadelphia Orchestra
    Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Music Director and Conductor
  • Jean-Guihen Queyras, Cello


  • BRAHMS Symphony No. 3
  • HAYDN Cello Concerto in C Major
  • R. STRAUSS Der Rosenkavalier Suite


Strauss's Der Rosenkavalier Suite
The Philadelphia Orchestra | Eugene Ormandy, Conductor
Sony BMG Music

This performance is part of The Philadelphia Orchestra, and Fabulous Fridays.