Performance Saturday, January 31, 2015 | 8 PM

Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
This concert features two German masterpieces. Brahms’s Piano Concerto No. 2 is one of the landmarks of the concerto repertoire. Cast in four movements rather than the usual three, Brahms’s concerto inspires with its impassioned orchestral writing, including a gorgeous third-movement cello solo and a heroic role for the pianist. Schumann’s Symphony No. 3, “Rhenish”—one of his most popular works—is a joyful and warmly melodic snapshot of the Rhineland.


  • Chicago Symphony Orchestra
    Riccardo Muti, Music Director and Conductor
  • Yefim Bronfman, Piano


  • BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 2
  • SCHUMANN Symphony No. 3, "Rhenish"


Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 83 (II. Allegro appassionato)
Sviatoslav Richter, Piano | Chicago Symphony Orchestra | Erich Leinsdorf, Conductor

This performance is part of Great Symphonies, and Weekends at Carnegie Hall.

You May Also Like

Friday, January 30, 2015
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Sunday, February 1, 2015
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Sunday, May 17, 2015
The MET Orchestra