Performance Wednesday, February 11, 2015 | 8 PM

Danish National Symphony Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Sibelius’s Violin Concerto bustles with a restless energy, opening with a hair-raising cadenza that’s a virtuosic high-wire act for the soloist. “Music is life, and like it, inextinguishable,” Nielsen wrote on the score of his “Inextinguishable” Symphony. It’s an intense orchestral journey from despair to victory, featuring a dramatic duel between two sets of timpani in the final section before the triumphant finale.


  • Danish National Symphony Orchestra
    Cristian Macelaru, Conductor
  • Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin


  • SIBELIUS Valse triste
  • SIBELIUS Violin Concerto
  • NIELSEN Symphony No. 4, "The Inextinguishable"


Sibelius's Violin Concerto (Allegro moderato)
Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin | Staatskapelle Dresden | André Previn, Conductor;
Deutsche Grammophon


Anne-Sophie Mutter Introduces Her 2014-2015 Perspectives Series

Perspectives: Anne-Sophie Mutter

Part of

You May Also Like

Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Carnegie Hall’s
Opening Night Gala
Berliner Philharmoniker

Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Anne-Sophie Mutter
Lambert Orkis

Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Anne-Sophie Mutter
Mutter Virtuosi

Load Testing by Web Performance