Performance Tuesday, March 10, 2015 | 8 PM

Sir András Schiff

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Sir András Schiff explores the fascinating final sonatas of four great masters. Haydn’s C-Major Sonata, an extraordinarily playful work written during his second visit to London, takes advantage of the innovations that English piano makers achieved by extending the range of the instrument. Mozart’s C-Major Sonata, featuring the delicate “In an 18th-Century Drawing Room” theme, is an enduring favorite. But Beethoven slammed the door on the drawing room with late piano sonatas like his daring Sonata No. 30, while Schubert’s C-Minor Sonata is one of his most dramatic works.


  • Sir András Schiff, Piano


  • HAYDN Piano Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI: 50
  • BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 30 in E Major, Op. 109
  • MOZART Piano Sonata in C Major, K. 545
  • SCHUBERT Piano Sonata in C Minor, D. 958


Haydn's Piano Sonata No. 60 in C Major (Allegro molto)
András Schiff, Piano

This performance is part of Great Artists I, and Midweek Piano Trio.

Part of