Performance Thursday, March 12, 2015 | 7:30 PM

Sasha Cooke
Julius Drake

Zankel Hall
Sasha Cooke continues to win accolades for her opera and song performances. The New Yorker has praised her “luminous tone,” and she’s been called “equal parts poise, radiance, and elegant directness” (Opera News). As part of this recital, Cooke sings the world premiere of a work by Pulitizer Prize–winning composer Kevin Puts.


  • Sasha Cooke, Mezzo-Soprano
  • Julius Drake, Piano


  • HAYDN Arianna a Naxos, Hob. XXVIb: 2
  • LISZT "Des Tages laute Stimmen schweigen," S. 337 (after Saar)
  • LISZT "Was Liebe sei," S. 288, No. 3 (after Hagn)
  • LISZT "Einst," S. 332 (after Bodenstedt)
  • LISZT "Lasst mich ruhen," S. 314 (after Fallersleben)
  • KEVIN PUTS Of All the Moons (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • MAHLER Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen
  • GRANADOS ENRIQUE GRANADOS Selections from Tonadillas en un estilo antiguo
    ·· Amor y odio
    ·· El tra-la-la y el punteado
    ·· El mirar de la maja
    ·· La maja dolorosa
    ·· El majo discreto


Britten's "A Charm" from A Charm of Lullabies, Op. 41
Sasha Cooke, Mezzo-Soprano | Inon Barnatan, Piano



This concert and the Pure Voice Series are sponsored by the Jean & Jula Goldwurm Memorial Foundation in memory of Jula Goldwurm.