Performance Thursday, March 12, 2015 | 8 PM

Sir András Schiff

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Sir András Schiff performs final piano sonatas by four great composers of the Austro-German tradition. The Classical era is represented by Haydn’s charming Sonata in D Major and Mozart’s B-flat–Major Sonata. Beethoven bridges the Classical and the Romantic eras and, in his profound Sonata No. 31, explores a new world of keyboard invention. Schubert’s Sonata in A Major is bold and lyrical with an especially daring Andantino of startling key changes.


  • Sir András Schiff, Piano


  • MOZART Piano Sonata in B-flat Major, K. 570
  • BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 31 in A-flat Major, Op. 110
  • HAYDN Piano Sonata in D Major, Hob. HVI: 51
  • SCHUBERT Piano Sonata in A Major, D. 959


Haydn's Piano Sonata No. 61 in D Major (Finale - Presto)
András Schiff, Piano

This performance is part of Keyboard Virtuosos II.

You May Also Like

Thursday, October 16, 2014
Luca Pisaroni
Wolfram Rieger

Monday, October 20, 2014
Ensemble ACJW

Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Sir András Schiff