Performance Sunday, March 22, 2015 | 3 PM

Meredith Monk and Friends

Zankel Hall
Meredith Monk invites a group of colleagues from the new music, classical, jazz, and DJ worlds to demonstrate her wide-reaching influence and to celebrate her 50th anniversary of creating work in New York. Featuring an all-Monk program with Monk and her acclaimed Vocal Ensemble at the helm, the concert includes music from her opera ATLAS, selections from the acclaimed Songs of Ascension, and new arrangements and interpretations of existing works.

Part of My Time, My Music.


  • Bang on a Can All-Stars
    ·· Ashley Bathgate, Cello
    ·· Robert Black, Bass
    ·· Vicky Chow, Piano
    ·· Ian Antonio, Percussion
    ·· Taylor Levine, Guitar
    ·· Ken Thomson, Clarinets
  • Don Byron and Guests
  • Patricia Franceschy, Vibraphone
  • Future Quest
    ·· Theo Bleckmann, Vocals
    ·· John Hollenbeck, Percussion
    ·· Ellery Eskelin, Saxophone
    ·· Tony Malaby, Saxophone
    ·· Erik Deutsch, Keyboard
  • Ha-Yang Kim
  • Lukas Ligeti
  • The M6
  • Meredith Monk and Vocal Ensemble
  • Missy Mazzoli and Victoire
  • Jessye Norman
  • Courtney Orlando
  • Cynthia Powell
  • Lee Ranaldo
  • Todd Reynolds
  • Nadia Sirota
  • DJ Spooky
  • Young People's Chorus of New York City
    Francisco J. Núñez, Artistic Director
  • John Zorn and Cyro Baptista
  • John Schaefer, Host


  • Cellular Songs (work in progress)
  • "Future Quest" from ATLAS: an opera in three parts (arr. Theo Bleckmann and John Hollenbeck)
  • "Wheel" (arr. Theo Bleckmann and John Hollenbeck)
  • "Dawn" from Book of Days (remix DJ Spooky)
  • "Fields/Clouds" from Book of Days (remix DJ Spooky)
  • "Gotham Lullaby" (arr. Todd Reynolds)
  • "Memory Song" from The Games (arr. Julia Wolfe)
  • "totentanz" from impermanence (arr. David Lang; World Premiere)
  • "Double Fiesta" (arr. David Lang)
  • "Click Song #1" from Light Songs (arr. Don Byron)
  • "passage / What does it mean?" (arr. Missy Mazzoli; World Premiere)
  • "epilogue" from mercy
  • "Prayer II" from The Politics of Quiet
  • "Things Heaven and Hell" from Three Heavens and Hells (arr. Allison Sniffin)
  • "Dungeon"
  • "Shadow Song" (reimagined Lukas Ligeti; World Premiere)
  • "Tablet"
  • "Astronaut Anthem" from The Games (arr. Lee Ranaldo; World Premiere)
  • Selections from ATLAS: an opera in three parts
  • Selections from Songs of Ascension
  • "Panda Chant II"


Meredith Monk: Carnegie Hall's 2014-2015 Richard and Barbara Debs Composer's Chair

Meredith Monk is the holder of the 2014–2015 Richard and Barbara Debs Composer's Chair at Carnegie Hall.
This performance is part of Off the Beaten Track, and Meredith Monk.

Part of