Performance Saturday, March 7, 2015 | 9 PM

Kronos Quartet

Zankel Hall
One of the most celebrated ensembles of our day, the Kronos Quartet continues to expand the range and context of the string quartet. This concert includes a new work commissioned by Carnegie Hall and Beyond Zero: 1914–1918, an extraordinary multimedia production that features music by Aleksandra Vrebalov and a film by Bill Morrison. A native of the former Yugoslavia, Vrebalov’s work recounts her firsthand experiences in the war-torn Balkans of the 1990s, set against Morrison’s film that includes seldom-seen World War I footage from the Library of Congress.

Part of Late Nights at Zankel Hall and My Time, My Music.


  • Kronos Quartet
    ·· David Harrington, Violin
    ·· John Sherba, Violin
    ·· Hank Dutt, Viola
    ·· Sunny Yang, Cello


    Program to include:
  • DEREK CHARKE Dear Creator, help us return to the centre of our hearts (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • ALEKSANDRA VREBALOV / BILL MORRISON Beyond Zero: 1914–1918 (for quartet with film) (NY Premiere)


Reich Triple Quartet (Third Movement)
Kronos Quartet and Friends

This performance is part of Signatures.

Part of