Performance Tuesday, April 14, 2015 | 8 PM

The Mutter-Bronfman-Harrell Trio

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Beethoven’s “Archduke” Trio was named for his patron Rudolf of Austria. The large-scale and seamless integration of the three instruments was unprecedented and set the tone for the great trios of Schubert, Brahms, Dvořák, and others. Tchaikovsky’s Trio in A Minor was dedicated to his mentor Nikolai Rubinstein, the founder of the Moscow Conservatory. With its opening “Pezzo elegiaco” (“Elegiac Piece”) and brilliant set of variations on a folk theme, Tchaikovsky’s Trio is an impassioned masterpiece.


  • The Mutter-Bronfman-Harrell Trio
    ·· Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin
    ·· Yefim Bronfman, Piano
    ·· Lynn Harrell, Cello


  • BEETHOVEN Piano Trio in B-flat Major, Op. 97, "Archduke"
  • TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Trio in A Minor


Beethoven's Piano Trio in B-flat Major (Allegro moderato)
Arthur Rubenstein, Piano | Jascha Heifetz, Violin | Emanuel Feuermann, Cello
BMG Entertainment


Anne-Sophie Mutter Introduces Her 2014-2015 Perspectives Series

Perspectives: Anne-Sophie Mutter
Sponsored by Ernst & Young LLP

Part of