Performance Thursday, April 16, 2015 | 8 PM

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Beethoven’s Violin Concerto set the standard for the great violin concertos of the Romantic era. Longer in duration, more richly orchestrated and featuring a solo part more difficult than anything that came before, it’s quintessential Beethoven. Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10, popularly believed to be a musical depiction of the horrors of the Stalin era, is a scorching, tragic masterpiece featuring a terrifying march thought to be a portrait of the Soviet dictator.


  • Boston Symphony Orchestra
    Andris Nelsons, Music Director and Conductor
  • Christian Tetzlaff, Violin


  • SHOSTAKOVICH Passacaglia from Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk
  • BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto
  • SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 10


Mahler's Symphony No. 6 (Allegro energico, ma non troppo)
Boston Symphony Orchestra | Seiji Ozawa, Conductor
Universal International Music

KPMG 124X46
Sponsored by KPMG LLP
This performance is part of Russian Romance, and Great American Orchestras II.