Performance Thursday, April 23, 2015 | 8 PM

Orchestra of St. Luke's

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Shostakovich’s Second Cello Concerto makes great demands on the soloist, especially the wrenching cadenza that opens the final movement—a harrowing prelude that sets up a fierce danse macabre that concludes the work. Soloist Alisa Weilerstein has been praised by the San Francisco Chronicle for her “wonderfully large and expressive string tone.” Stravinsky’s piquant Symphonies of Wind Instruments and Beethoven’s immortal Symphony No. 5 frame the program.


  • Orchestra of St. Luke's
    Pablo Heras-Casado, Principal Conductor
  • Alisa Weilerstein, Cello


  • STRAVINSKY Symphonies of Wind Instruments
  • SHOSTAKOVICH Cello Concerto No. 2
  • BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5


Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 (Allegro)
Chamber Orchestra of Europe | Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Conductor
Warner Classics

This performance is part of Orchestra of St. Luke's.