Performance Tuesday, April 28, 2015 | 8 PM

New World Symphony

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
An eclectic program that spans Biedermeier Vienna to 20th century Switzerland is performed by Anne-Sophie Mutter, “the undisputed queen of violin playing” (The Times, London), with Michael Tilson Thomas conducting the New World Symphony. Mutter is featured in two 20th-century works: Berg’s profoundly moving Violin Concerto and Moret’s rapturous En rêve, a work written for her in 1988. Schubert’s warmly melodic Incidental Music from Rosamunde opens the concert that climaxes with the shimmering orchestral colors of Debussy’s La mer.

The contemporary work on this program is part of My Time, My Music.


  • New World Symphony
    America’s Orchestral Academy
    Michael Tilson Thomas, Artistic Director and Conductor
  • Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin


  • SCHUBERT Incidental Music from Rosamunde
  • BERG Violin Concerto
  • MORET En rêve (NY Premiere)
  • DEBUSSY La mer


Debussy's La mer (Jeux de vagues)
London Symphony Orchestra | Michael Tilson Thomas, Conductor


Anne-Sophie Mutter Introduces Her 2014-2015 Perspectives Series


NWS Institutional Video-FIN from NWS on Vimeo.


Perspectives: Anne-Sophie Mutter
This performance is part of Carnegie Classics, and Perspectives: Anne-Sophie Mutter.

Part of