Count Me In | Carnegie Hall
  • Count Me In

    Count Me In meets the needs of New York City middle school singers, many of whom have never studied music before and whose schools do not have established choral programs. Students from across the city receive afterschool instruction and training in Carnegie Hall’s Resnick Education Wing, preparing them to audition for arts high schools. Meanwhile, school staff and parents attend informational sessions to learn more about how to support their young musicians. Carnegie Hall also supports the middle schools themselves, providing training and mentorship designed to help these schools establish and build their own programs.

    Space is limited, so we recommend that applications be submitted as soon as possible and prior to the start of September. All students and parents must complete the application as well as take part in a short interview with Carnegie Hall staff.

  •  

  • You’ve always wanted to learn how to sing—now’s your chance!

    Fall 2016

    Please refer to Program Information and Frequently Asked Questions for more information. For questions not listed, e-mail youthprograms@carnegiehall.org

    Sessions are for eighth-grade students who are committed to auditioning for performing arts high schools. Students may apply for Count Me In with online application available in Spring 2016.

    Students will

    • gain valuable experience about how to successfully audition for vocal programs at music high schools.
    • learn the songs and skills required for auditions.
    • participate in mock auditions.
    • connect with vocal directors at local high schools and community choirs.

    All Count Me In sessions

    • take place in The Resnick Education Wing at Carnegie Hall.
    • are free, and MetroCards are provided.
    • allow you to earn a Count Me In certificate for perfect attendance for your resume.

    Schedule

    Applicants must indicate which section of the program they are interested in attending in their application. All classes meet from 4–5:30 PM. For Fall 2016, sections will meet on the following dates:

    Sections 1 and 2:
    Mondays and Wednesdays

    Monday, September 19
    Wednesday, September 21
    Monday, September 26
    Wednesday, September 28
    No class on October 3 for Rosh Hashanah
    Wednesday, October 5
    No class on October 10 for Columbus Day
    Tuesday, October 11*
    No class on October 12 for Yom Kippur
    Monday, October 17
    Wednesday, October 19
    Monday, October 24

    Final Concert: Wednesday, October 26

    *Class will meet on an irregular day to account for missed classes on school holidays. This is a mandatory class.

    Sections 3 and 4:
    Tuesdays and Thursdays

    Tuesday, September 20
    Thursday, September 22
    Tuesday, September 27
    Thursday, September 29
    No class on October 4 for Rosh Hashanah
    No class on October 6
    Tuesday, October 11
    Thursday, October 13
    Tuesday, October 18
    Thursday, October 20
    Tuesday, October 25

    Final Concert: Wednesday, October 26