• Musical Explorers

    Program Features

    • Two interactive concerts (fall and spring) per year in Zankel Hall featuring multicultural vocalists
    • Two required professional development workshops (fall and spring)
    • A Teacher Guide with accompanying CD, featuring lessons and creative extensions for yearlong coursework, geared toward music and general classroom teachers
    • Student workbooks
  • Professional Development Workshop Schedule

    All participating teachers are required to attend two professional development workshops: one in fall 2016 and one in spring 2017.

    All professional development workshops take place in the Resnick Education Wing at Carnegie Hall. The entrance is at 154 West 57th Street (at Seventh Avenue), just east of the main entrance to Carnegie Hall. Directions to Carnegie Hall can be found here.

    Fall Professional Development Workshops (select one when applying)

    Tuesday, September 20, 2016 4:30 PM–6:30 PM
    Thursday, September 29, 2016 4:30 PM–6:30 PM
    Saturday, October 1, 2016 11:00 AM–1:00 PM

    Spring Professional Development Workshops (select one when applying)

    Friday, January 13, 2017 4:30 PM–6:30 PM
    Saturday, January 14, 2017 2:00 PM–4:00 PM

    Concerts

    Fall Concert Schedule and Location

    Tuesday, December 6, 2016–Friday, December 9, 2016

    10:15 AM and 11:45 AM | Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall

    Spring Concert Schedule and Location

    Tuesday, May 10, 2017–Friday, May 12, 2017

    10:15 AM and 11:45 AM | Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall

    Fees

    There is a general fee of $6 per student and $50 per teacher. Schools may bring no more than one chaperone per 10 students, free of charge. Payment by personal check, credit card, and/or copy of purchase order is due on Tuesday, January 31, 2017.