Carnegie Hall Presents

Carnegie Hall Classics

This popular series celebrates the continuum of extraordinary musical interpreters. World-class Arab and Israeli musicians unite to perform two Beethoven symphonies, Renée Fleming stars as Blanche DuBois in a semi-staged performance of André Previn’s A Streetcar Named Desire, and the compelling violinist Lisa Batiashvili performs Brahms’s Violin Concerto with the revered Staatskapelle Dresden.

Series Events

Sunday, February 3, 2013 | 2 PM
West-Eastern Divan Orchestra
Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage


  • West-Eastern Divan Orchestra
  • Daniel Barenboim, Music Director and Conductor
  • Diana Damrau, Soprano
  • Kate Lindsey, Mezzo-Soprano
  • Piotr Beczala, Tenor
  • René Pape, Bass
  • Westminster Symphonic Choir
    Joe Miller, Conductor


  • Symphony No. 2
  • Symphony No. 9
Beethoven's Symphony No. 9 (Presto)
Warner Classics
Thursday, March 14, 2013 | 7 PM
A Streetcar Named Desire
Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage


  • Renée Fleming, Soprano (Blanche DuBois)
  • Teddy Tahu Rhodes, Baritone (Stanley Kowalski)
  • Susanna Phillips, Soprano (Stella Kowalski)
  • Anthony Dean Griffey, Tenor (Harold Mitchell, "Mitch")
  • Victoria Livengood, Mezzo-Soprano (Eunice Hubbell)
  • Dominic Armstrong, Tenor (Steve Hubbell)
  • Andrew Bidlack, Tenor (A Young Collector)
  • Georga Osborne (Nurse)
  • Bill Nabel (Doctor)
  • Brad Heikes, Brendan Irving, Kevin Reed, Patrick Stoffer, Brett Zubler (Men of New Orleans)
  • Orchestra of St. Luke's
    Patrick Summers, Conductor
  • Brad Dalton, Director
  • Alan Adelman, Lighting Designer
  • Johann Stegmeir, Costume Designer


  • ANDRÉ PREVIN A Streetcar Named Desire (semi-staged performance) (NY Premiere)

André Previn's A Streetcar Named Desire ("I Can Smell the Sea Air")
San Francisco Opera Orchestra | André Previn, Conductor | Renée Fleming, Soprano
Deutsche Grammophon
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 | 8 PM
Staatskapelle Dresden
Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage


  • Staatskapelle Dresden
    Christian Thielemann, Principal Conductor
  • Lisa Batiashvili, Violin


  • Academic Festival Overture
  • Violin Concerto
  • Symphony No. 4
Brahms's Concerto for Violin in D Major, Op. 77 (Allegro non troppo)
Batiashvili Staatskapelle Dresden Thielemann
Brahms's Symphony No. 4 (Andante moderato) 
Cleveland Orchestra | George Szell, Conductor

Did you know a subscription can save you up to 28% off the price of single tickets for these same events?

Review all of the subscriber benefits.

Series Quick Picks