Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

  • Carnegie Hall Presents
  • ZH Zankel Hall
  • SA/PS Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
  • REW Resnick Education Wing
  • WRH Weill Recital Hall
SAT Continues Partnership with Carnegie Hall; Presents Gergiev and Mariinsky Orchestra on Jan. 28 continues its Carnegie Hall lineup in 2015, bringing the venue’s first live orchestral webcast–free of charge–to a worldwide audience on Wednesday, January 28. This historic transmission will capture music director Valery Gergiev leading the Mariinsky Orchestra in an all-Russian program that pairs two 20th-century classics–Prokofiev’s wartime Fifth Symphony (1944) and Rodion Shchedrin’s First Concerto for Orchestra, “Naughty Limericks” (1963)–with Tchaikovsky’s rarely-performed Second Piano Concerto, featuring Denis Matsuev as soloist. The concert marks’s fifth free webcast from Carnegie Hall’s Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage.

The partnership between Carnegie Hall and made live webcasts of Carnegie Hall concerts available for the first time in November and December of 2014, showcasing performances by some of the world’s most celebrated artists: Joyce Didonato, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Leonidas Kavakos and Yuja Wang, and Daniil Trifonov. These webcasts were rapturously received, reaching 950,000 video views since November 4, which marks a new record. Some 90,000 connections were hit during the live broadcasts, representing an average of nearly 23,000 per live concert. Half of these viewers watched the webcasts on their mobiles and tablets, using the app. All told, audience members originated from 7,000 different cities and 170 different countries.

Following the free live webcasts, replay of the Carnegie Hall concerts is available at no charge to online audiences on for an additional 90 days, playable worldwide on all internet-enabled devices, including smart phones, tablets, computers, Chromecast, and smart TVs.

Live webcast:

Wednesday, Jan 28 at 8 PM (EST)


Mariinsky Orchestra
Valery Gergiev, Music Director and Conductor
Denis Matsuev, Piano


SHCHEDRIN Concerto for Orchestra No. 1, "Naughty Limericks"
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 2
PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 5

This webcast is made in partnership with AVC Charity Foundation.