• Learn How to Listen Smarter: Sign Up for S4MU

    In advance of its May 2013 concerts at Carnegie Hall, Spring for Music has created a MOOC—massive open online course—which it has dubbed S4MU, or Spring For Music University.

    In essence, S4MU 2013 is a four-week course in how to listen smarter.

    The MOOC consists of four classes running weekly during April:
    1. April 1: The Dark Art of Programming
    2. April 8: Best Orchestras in the Land?
    3. April 15: Famous Like Me
    4. April 22: Smart Listening

    S4MU instructors include Baltimore Symphony Orchestra conductor Marin Alsop; Douglas McLennan, editor of ArtsJournal; public relations legend Mary Lou Falcone; Jennifer Higdon, composer; vocalist Storm Large; and conductor Leonard Slatkin, among others. However, anyone who participates in the S4MU, will help teach the course by sharing experiences, asking questions, and contributing to wikis and discussion boards.

    More information about S4MU 2013 is available here.

    To register for S4MU 2013, use the simple signup form here.

    Douglas McLennan introduces S4MU.

    Spring For Music 2013
    S4MU 2013