Performance Thursday, November 18, 2010 | 8 PM

Stephen Hough

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Stephen Hough replaces pianist Murray Perahia in recital on Thursday, November 18. Mr. Perahia is recovering from a hand injury and regrets that he is therefore not able to undertake his fall recital tour.

For ticket information contact CarnegieCharge at 212-247-7800.


  • Stephen Hough, Piano


  • BEETHOVEN Sonata No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 27, No. 2, "Moonlight"
  • JANÁCEK Sonata 1.X.1905, From the Street
  • SCRIABIN Sonata No. 4, Op. 30
  • SCRIABIN Sonata No. 5, Op. 53
  • LISZT Sonata in B Minor

  • Encores:
  • CHOPIN Nocturne in E-flat Major, Op. 9, No. 2
  • PADEREWSKI Nocturne in B-flat Major, Op. 16, No. 4

  • Program is approximately 1 hour, 45 minutes, including one intermission


  • Stephen Hough

    With a singular vision that transcends musical fashions and trends, Stephen Hough is widely regarded as one of the most important and distinctive pianists of his generation. In recognition of his achievements, he was awarded a prestigious MacArthur Fellowship in 2001, joining prominent scientists, writers, and others who have made unique contributions to contemporary life.

    Mr. Hough has appeared with most of the major American and European orchestras, and regularly performs recitals in the important halls and concert series around the world. Recent engagements include recitals in London, Paris, Madrid, Hong Kong, Sydney, and on the main stage of Carnegie Hall; performances with the New York, London, Los Angeles, and Czech philharmonics; the Chicago, Pittsburgh, San Francisco, Boston, St. Louis, Toronto, and Atlanta symphonies; the Cleveland, Philadelphia, Minnesota, and Russian National orchestras; and a worldwide televised performance with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle.

    An exclusive Hyperion recording artist, many of Mr. Hough's catalog of more than 50 CDs have garnered international prizes, including the Deutsche Schallplattenpreis, Diapason d'Or, four Grammy nominations, and eight Gramophone Awards. His 2005 live recording of Rachmaninoff piano concertos became the fastest-selling recording in Hyperion's history, while his 1987 recording of Hummel concertos remains Chandos Records' best-selling disc to date. His most recent releases are a disc of Tchaikovsky concertos with the Minnesota Orchestra led by Osmo Vänskä and a Chopin recording entitled Late Masterpieces.

    Mr. Hough is also an avid writer and composer. He has written for the Guardian and The Times (London), and was invited by the Telegraph Media Group in 2008 to start what has become one of the most popular cultural blogs. He has also written extensively about theology; his book, The Bible as Prayer, was published in the US and Canada by Paulist Press in 2007.

    Mr. Hough's recent compositions include a cello concerto, The Loneliest Wilderness; two choral works, Mass of Innocence and Experience and Missa Mirabilis; a trio, Was mit den Tränen geschieht, commissioned by members of the Berliner Philharmoniker; and a string sextet, Requiem Aeternum: after Victoria, commissioned by the National Gallery in London.

    A resident of London, Mr. Hough is a visiting professor at the Royal Academy of Music and holds the International Chair of Piano Studies at his alma mater, the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester.
    More Info

Sponsored by Ernst & Young LLP
This performance is part of Keyboard Virtuosos II.