Performance Saturday, November 20, 2010 | 8 PM

Pinchas Zukerman
Yefim Bronfman

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Zukerman, who is winning over audiences in Ottawa as music director of the National Arts Centre Orchestra, returns to the concert stage on both violin and viola. Bronfman was a Carnegie Hall Perspectives artist in 2007–2008, and gave a mammoth recital program here last April. They now come together for audience-pleasing favorites.


  • Pinchas Zukerman, Violin and Viola
  • Yefim Bronfman, Piano


  • MOZART Violin Sonata in B-flat Major, K. 454
  • BEETHOVEN Violin Sonata in F Major, Op. 24, "Spring"
  • BRAHMS Viola Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 120, No. 2

  • Encores:
  • SCHUMANN Langsam, mit melancholischem Ausdruck from Märchenbilder, Op. 113
  • MOZART Rondo from Violin Sonata in C Major, K. 296

  • Program is approximately 1 hour, 30 minutes, including one intermission


  • Pinchas Zukerman

    Pinchas Zukerman has remained a phenomenon in the world of music for four decades. His prodigious technique and unwavering artistic standards are a marvel to audiences and critics. Mr. Zukerman is equally respected as violinist, violist, conductor, pedagogue, and chamber musician.

    His 2010-2011 season includes more than 100 worldwide performances, bringing him to multiple destinations in North America, Europe, and Asia. Mr. Zukerman performs a recital tour with pianist Yefim Bronfman in New York, Chicago, Boston, Princeton, and Kansas City. His chamber ensemble of eight years, the Zukerman ChamberPlayers, perform in Vienna, Paris, Milan, Naples, Istanbul, Budapest, Warsaw, and Eindhoven. In his second season as Principal Guest Conductor of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in London, he leads the ensemble on an extensive tour of China, as well as Italy, England, Israel, and Switzerland.

    Over the last decade, Mr. Zukerman has led many of the world's top ensembles in a wide variety of the orchestral repertoire's most demanding works. Currently in his 12th season as Music Director of the National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa, Mr. Zukerman is recognized for elevating the ensemble's caliber and reputation, as well as inaugurating the prestigious National Arts Centre Summer Music Institute. In addition to the National Arts Centre and Royal Philharmonic orchestras, Maestro Zukerman maintains long-term conducting relationships with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic, and Pittsburgh Symphony. In North America, he has led the New York and Rochester philharmonics; the National Symphony Orchestra; and the symphonies of Atlanta, Dallas, Toronto, Milwaukee, St. Louis, Madison, Oregon, Utah, and Colorado. Internationally, he has conducted the Staatskapelle Berlin; the Radio France and Nagoya philharmonics; and the Barcelona, São Paulo, and Singapore symphony orchestras.

    A devoted and innovative pedagogue, Mr. Zukerman chairs the Pinchas Zukerman Performance Program at the Manhattan School of Music. To maintain close relationships with his students while fulfilling the travel demands of his concert engagements, Mr. Zukerman has pioneered the use of distance-learning technology in the arts. His dedication to teaching has resulted in innovative programs in London, New York, China, Israel, and Ottawa.

    Born in Tel Aviv, Pinchas Zukerman came to America in 1962, where he studied at The Juilliard School with Ivan Galamian. He has been awarded a Medal of Arts, the Isaac Stern Award for Artistic Excellence, and was appointed as the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative's first instrumentalist mentor in the music discipline. Mr. Zukerman's extensive discography includes more than 100 titles, and has earned him 21 Grammy nominations and two awards.
    More Info

  • Yefim Bronfman

    Yefim Bronfman is widely regarded as one of the most talented virtuoso pianists performing today. His commanding technique and exceptional lyrical gifts have won him consistent critical acclaim and enthusiastic audiences worldwide, whether for his solo recitals, his prestigious orchestral engagements, or his rapidly growing catalog of recordings.

    Mr. Bronfman's 2010-2011 US season highlights include recitals in Los Angeles, San Francisco, and New York, as well as concerto performances with the orchestras of Houston, Cincinnati, St. Louis, Atlanta, New York, and Los Angeles. In Europe, Mr. Bronfman tours with Esa-Pekka Salonen and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, performing the concerto written for him by Maestro Salonen. With the Philharmonia Orchestra of London-again with Salonen-he launches a two-season project of the three Bartók concertos in London and on tour in Europe. Return engagements in Europe include the Berliner Philharmoniker, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic, London Symphony Orchestra, Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, and Munich Philharmonic.

    Mr. Bronfman has received widespread praise for his solo, chamber, and orchestral recordings. His recording of Salonen's piano concerto was nominated for a Grammy Award in 2009. In 1997, Mr. Bronfman won a Grammy Award for his recording of the three Bartók piano concertos with Salonen and the Los Angeles Philharmonic. His most recent releases are Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1 with Mariss Jansons and the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks; a recital disc entitled Perspectives that complemented Mr. Bronfman's designation as a Carnegie Hall Perspectives artist for the 2007-2008 season; and the complete recordings of the Beethoven piano concertos, along with the Triple Concerto with violinist Gil Shaham, cellist Truls Mørk, and the Tönhalle Orchestra Zürich under David Zinman.

    Born in the Soviet Union in 1958, Yefim Bronfman immigrated to Israel with his family in 1973, where he studied with pianist Arie Vardi, head of the Rubin Academy of Music at Tel Aviv University. In the US, he studied at The Juilliard School, Marlboro Music, and Curtis Institute of Music under the instruction of Rudolf Firkusny, Leon Fleisher, and Rudolf Serkin.
    More Info


Beethoven Sonata No. 5, Op. 24, in F, "Spring" (Scherzo)
Pinchas Zukerman, Violin; Marc Neikrug, Piano
RCA Victor Red Seal

This performance is part of Great Artists I, and Great Artists I Students.