Performance Wednesday, October 24, 2012 | 7:30 PM

Alexandre Tharaud

Weill Recital Hall
French pianist Alexandre Tharaud is one of those rare performers who finds hidden connections among works separated by centuries, which makes his recitals more than just a display of astounding musicality. On this program—his Carnegie Hall recital debut—Tharaud builds interpretive bridges between Scarlatti, Ravel, Liszt, and Chopin.

This concert is part of Salon Encores.


  • Alexandre Tharaud, Piano


  • SCARLATTI Sonata in E Major, K. 380
  • SCARLATTI Sonata in A Minor, K. 3
  • SCARLATTI Sonata in C Major, K. 514
  • SCARLATTI Sonata in F Minor, K. 481
  • SCARLATTI Sonata in D Minor, K. 141
  • RAVEL Miroirs
  • CHOPIN Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Minor, Op. 35
  • LISZT Funérailles from Harmonies poétiques et religieuses

  • Encores:
  • BACH Adagio from Concerto for Keyboard in D Minor, BWV 974
  • GERSHWIN "The Man I Love"


  • Alexandre Tharaud

    Alexandre Tharaud's career has been well documented in a series of releases from the Virgin Classics and harmonia mundi labels. His just-released CD Le boeuf sur le toit follows last year's collection of Scarlatti's sonatas. He has also made a series of successful and award-winning recordings of works by Rameau, Ravel, Bach, Couperin, and Satie, in addition to several CDs dedicated to the works of Chopin.

    Mr. Tharaud has performed worldwide at venues that include Brussels's Palais des Beaux-Arts, Amsterdam's Concertgebouw, Paris's Théâtre du Châtelet and Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Kultur-Casino Bern (Meisterzyklus series), Köln Philharmonie, Philharmonie Essen, Prague Rudolfinum, BBC Proms, London's Southbank Centre and Wigmore Hall, Seoul Arts Center, Tokyo's Oji Hall, Taipei's National Concert Hall, Buenos Aires's Teatro Colón, and on the Washington Performing Arts Society's Hayes Piano Series.

    Mr. Tharaud has been invited to play with international orchestras in Germany, Canada, Japan, Asia (Taiwan, Japan, and Singapore), Australia, and France under the batons of Lionel Bringuier, Bernard Labadie, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Jean Fournet, Marc Minkowski, Stéphane Denève, Claus Peter Flor, Stefan Blunier, and Georges Prêtre.

    Mr. Tharaud's knowledge of French music extends beyond the main repertoire and includes contemporary composers, such as Thierry Pécou and Gérard Pesson, whose concerto he premieres in November 2012 with the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, followed by another performance of the work with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra the next month. He has toured extensively in Europe with his programs Hommages à Rameau and Hommage à Couperin, which feature works by old masters interwoven with tributes by contemporary composers. May 2012 saw the premiere of Pianosong, a selection of contemporary works composed after popular songs from the 1960s to the 1980s.


    More Info


Ravel's Miroirs, IV. Alborada del gracioso
Alexandre Tharaud, Piano
harmonia mundi

At a Glance

Spanning more than 200 years of music history, all the composers on this evening's program are associated with pianistic greatness. From Scarlatti's foundation-laying sonatas, to the pivotal works of Chopin and Liszt, to Ravel's pioneering color palette, Alexandre Tharaud invites listeners to explore many different facets of keyboard virtuosity.

Additionally, there are other connections among these pieces and composers. Scarlatti and Ravel share an interest in Spanish culture that is carried over into their pieces, and the works of Chopin and Liszt both portray funeral processions.

Finally, all of these works offer—whether intentional or not—a powerful narrative capability, drawing the listener into musical descriptions of historical, cultural, and personal accounts that transcend any boundaries of time or style.
Program Notes
The Distinctive Debuts series is made possible, in part, by an endowment fund for the presentation of young artists provided by The Lizabeth and Frank Newman Charitable Foundation.

Additional endowment support for international outreach has been provided by the Stavros S. Niarchos Foundation.
This performance is part of Distinctive Debuts.