Performance Wednesday, November 7, 2012 | 8 PM

Özgür Aydin

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Beethoven wrote three sonatas for violin and piano in the key of A major, and Midori and pianist Özgür Aydin perform them all on this recital. Of the most famous, the spirited “Kreutzer” Sonata, Midori says, “I am always struck by the sheer energy and control necessary for the bursts of emotional intensity.” The duo brings the same energy and emotional force to Webern’s laconic Four Pieces for Violin and Piano and Crumbs’s Four Nocturnes (Night Music II), a hauntingly delicate work with a prevailing sense of suspension of time.


  • Midori, Violin
  • Özgür Aydin, Piano


  • BEETHOVEN Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Major
  • WEBERN Four Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op. 7
  • BEETHOVEN Violin Sonata No. 6 in A Major
  • GEORGE CRUMB Four Nocturnes (Night Music II)
  • BEETHOVEN Violin Sonata No. 9 in A Major, "Kreutzer"

  • Encores:
  • DEBUSSY "The Girl with the Flaxen Hair" (arr. Hartmann)
  • KREISLER Tambourin chinois


  • Midori

    Since her debut at the age of 11 with the New York Philharmonic, Midori has established a record of achievement that sets her apart as a master musician, innovator, and champion of the developmental potential of children. In 1992, she founded Midori & Friends, a nonprofit organization in New York that brings music education programs to thousands of underserved children each year. Two other organizations-Music Sharing, based in Japan, and Partners in Performance, based in the US-also bring music closer to the lives of people who may not otherwise have involvement with the arts. Her commitment to community collaboration and outreach extends beyond these organizations to her work with young violinists in master classes all over the world, and to her Orchestra Residencies Program  in the US.

    Midori plays as many as 100 concerts a year worldwide, dividing her time between recitals, chamber music, and concerto performances. She has an extensive catalogue of recordings. In recent years, she has devoted a great deal of energy and resources to commissioning and performing new music. In the 2012-2013 season-the 30th anniversary of her performing career-Midori will play the world premiere of a violin concerto by Hungarian composer Peter Eötvös, newly commissioned for her by the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, BBC Proms, and Los Angeles Philharmonic.

    In addition to being named Artist of the Year by the Japanese government (1988), Midori has won the Avery Fisher Prize (2001), the Deutsche Schallplattenpreis (2002 and 2003), the Kennedy Center Gold Medal in the Arts (2010), the USC Mellon Mentoring Award (2012), and the Crystal Award at the World Economic Forum for her "20-year devotion to community engagement work worldwide" (2012). In 2007, Midori was named a United Nations Messenger of Peace. In 2012, she was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and awarded an honorary doctorate in music by Yale University. She is Distinguished Professor, Jascha Heifetz Chair, and chair of the strings department at the University of Southern California's Thornton School of Music.

    More Info

  • Özgür Aydin

    Turkish-American pianist Özgür Aydin made his major concerto debut in 1997 in Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 1 with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. In the same year, he won the renowned ARD International Music Competition in Munich and the Nippon Music Award in Tokyo, and became a welcome guest in concert halls throughout the world. Mr. Aydin has appeared as soloist with London's BBC Concert Orchestra, the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela, Canada's Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, and numerous orchestras throughout Germany and Turkey. His festival appearances have included the Salzburg, Istanbul, Schleswig-Holstein, Rheingau, Ravinia, and Edinburgh music festivals.

    Mr. Aydin regularly performs chamber music concerts and recitals in prestigious concert venues, including the Auditorium du Louvre, Munich's Herkulessaal and Gasteig, Hamburg's Laeiszhalle, London's Queen Elizabeth Hall, Barcelona's L'Auditori, Tokyo's Suntory Hall and Opera City Recital Hall, New York's 92nd Street Y, Cleveland's Severance Hall, and the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC. He is a founding member of the Aurata Quintet, and has recently collaborated with violist Naoko Shimizu and members of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

    Mr. Aydin has made solo recordings of music by Chopin, Liszt, Mozart, Rachmaninoff, and Schumann for the labels Videal and Yapi Kredi, as well as a live recording produced by the Cleveland International Piano Competition. Two CDs of viola-piano duets with Naoko Shimizu have been released by Genuin Music Production in Leipzig, and a live recording has been released by Meister Music in Japan.

    Born in Colorado to Turkish parents, Mr. Aydin began his music studies at the Hacettepe University Ankara State Conservatory in Turkey. He subsequently studied with Peter Katin at the Royal College of Music in London and with Karl-Heinz Kämmerling at the Hochschule für Musik, Theater, und Medien Hannover. He has also received valuable instruction from artists such as Dmitri Bashkirov, Leon Fleisher, György Kurtág, Tatiana Nikolaeva, András Schiff, and Anatol Ugorski at master classes and festivals. Mr. Aydin lives in Berlin.

    More Info


Debussy's Sonata for Violin and Piano in G Minor (Intermezzo: Très lent et calme)
Midori, Violin | Robert McDonald, Piano
Sony Classical

At a Glance

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN  Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 2 in A Major, Op. 12, No. 2; Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 6 in A Major, Op. 30, No. 1; Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 9 in A Major, Op. 47, "Kreutzer"

Tonight's program juxtaposes Beethoven's three violin sonatas in A major with two pieces from the 20th century that are closely related in different ways. Although Op. 12, No. 2, received a mixed critical reception when it was published in 1799, it soon took its place in the standard violin repertory, which Beethoven continued to enrich as he explored innovative ways of combining the piano with string instruments in various combinations. Between 1800 and 1803, he produced six more sonatas, including the intricately wrought Op. 30, No. 1, and the bracingly virtuosic "Kreutzer" Sonata, Op. 47. The latter was written for the celebrated English violinist George Bridgetower. After the two men had a falling out, Beethoven awarded the dedication to the French virtuoso Rodolphe Kreutzer—who, ironically, never played it in public.

ANTON WEBERN  Four Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op. 7

These delicate, highly condensed miniatures date from 1910, when Webern was refining the spare, "aphoristic" style that would distinguish him from his teacher, Arnold Schoenberg, and his fellow student Alban Berg. The pieces' pointillist textures and strangely disembodied harmonies influenced a host of later composers, including George Crumb.  

GEORGE CRUMB  Four Nocturnes (Night Music II)

Crumb's distinctive musical voice is characterized by richly evocative poetic imagery and exotic timbral effects, often produced by unconventional instrumental techniques. These four short nocturnes seem to emanate from a surreal, Webernesque world in which both the passage of time and the traditional rules of musical syntax are suspended. 

Program Notes
$10 student rush tickets are available in center balcony and balcony.
This performance is part of Great Artists II, and Brilliant Beethoven - Students.