Performance Tuesday, November 12, 2013 | 8 PM

Joshua Bell
Sam Haywood

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
With his celebrity status and ubiquitous presence as a recitalist, soloist, and recording artist, it’s easy to forget the most important thing about Joshua Bell: He’s one of the best violinists on the classical music scene today. “Few prodigies make it into musical maturity, but Bell has evolved from a technical whiz to a true artist and intellectual whose music feeds both your brain and your heart” (Newsweek). Witness his unmatched artistry when the peerless performer returns to Carnegie Hall for what will no doubt be a dazzling recital.


  • Joshua Bell, Violin
  • Sam Haywood, Piano


  • TARTINI Violin Sonata in G Minor, Op. 1, No. 10, "Devil's Trill Sonata"
  • BEETHOVEN Violin Sonata No. 10 in G Major, Op. 96
  • STRAVINSKY Divertimento
  • Additional works to be announced from the stage
  • TCHAIKOVSKY Mélodie in E-flat Major, Op. 42, No. 3
  • WIENIAWSKI Polonaise brillante, Op. 21, No. 2

Event Duration

The printed program will last approximately two hours, including one 20-minute intermission.


  • Joshua Bell

    Joshua Bell's stunning virtuosity, beautiful tone, and charismatic stage presence have brought him universal acclaim. An Avery Fisher Prize recipient, Mr. Bell recently received the New York Chapter Recording Academy Honors and was the first person appointed music director of the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields (ASMF) since Sir Neville Marriner formed the orchestra in 1958. The ensemble's first CD under Mr. Bell's leadership-Beethoven's Symphony No. 4 and Symphony No. 7-debuted at the top of the Billboard classical chart. Mr. Bell's holiday-themed CD Musical Gifts-featuring collaborations with Chris Botti, Kristin Chenoweth, Chick Corea, Alison Krauss, Gloria Estefan, Renée Fleming, and others-was released last month.

    Mr. Bell's season highlights include a European and US tour with ASMF and performances with the Houston, Dallas, and St. Louis symphony orchestras. Mr. Bell performs the Brahms Violin Concerto with Paavo Järvi conducting the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, and the Sibelius Violin Concerto with Gustavo Dudamel conducting the Los Angeles Philharmonic. A US recital tour and a John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts performance with the National Symphony Orchestra round out the season.

    Mr. Bell's 2007 incognito Washington, DC, subway station performance resulted in a provocative Pulitzer Prize-winning Washington Post story that examined art and context. The conversation continues with the new illustrated children's book The Man with the Violin.

    As a soloist, chamber musician, and conductor, Mr. Bell has recorded more than 40 CDs garnering Grammy, Mercury, Gramophone, and Echo Klassik awards. Recent releases include works of French Impressionism  with pianist Jeremy Denk, At Home with Friends,  Vivaldi's The Four Seasons,  and Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto with the Berliner Philharmoniker. His discography encompasses the major violin repertoire, in addition to John Corigliano's Oscar-winning soundtrack to The Red Violin.

    Born in Bloomington, Indiana, Mr. Bell received his first violin at age four and at 12 began studying with Josef Gingold at Indiana University. Two years later, Mr. Bell came to national attention through performances with Riccardo Muti and The Philadelphia Orchestra, and at age 17, he made his Carnegie Hall debut. Bell plays the 1713 Huberman Stradivarius.

    More Info

  • Sam Haywood

    British pianist Sam Haywood has performed to critical acclaim all over the world. Alongside his busy solo and chamber music career, he is also a composer and artistic director of the Solent Music Festival.

    Later this year, Mr. Haywood will make solo debuts in the US (John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts), Peru (Lima Philharmonic Society), and Austria (Vienna Konzerthaus). He is a regular duo partner to violinist Joshua Bell, with whom he has toured all over the world. He also regularly appears with cellist Steven Isserlis and has recently recorded a CD of piano works by Julius Isserlis, Steven's grandfather, for Hyperion. To celebrate Chopin's bicentennial year, he made the world premiere recording on Chopin's own Pleyel piano, which has since been broadcast numerous times. Mr. Haywood's next recording project, entitled Composers in Love, will feature a selection of works inspired by composers' hearts' desires.

    Following his early success in the BBC Young Musician of the Year competition, the Royal Philharmonic Society awarded Mr. Haywood its prestigious Isserlis award. He went on to study with Paul Badura-Skoda in Vienna, where he began his enduring passion for opera. At the Royal Academy of Music in London, he was mentored by Maria Curcio, renowned teacher and pupil of Artur Schnabel.

    Outside the musical world, Mr. Haywood is passionate about his native Lake District, magic, literature, and technology.

    More Info


Ravel's Sonata for Violin and Piano in G Major (Alegretto)
Joshua Bell, Violin | Jeremy Denk, Piano

At a Glance

GIUSEPPE TARTINI  Violin Sonata in G Minor, "Devil's Trill Sonata"

Whether or not the devil actually appeared to Tartini in a dream in the guise of a virtuoso violinist, as legend has it, the ubiquitous trills that give this famous sonata its nickname are fiendishly hard to execute. Tartini and his pupils were known for the delicacy and refinement of their playing.

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN  Violin Sonata No. 10 in G Major, Op. 96

Nearly 10 years separate the last of Beethoven's 10 violin sonatas from its predecessor, the exuberant and concerto-like "Kreutzer" Sonata. In the G-Major Sonata, written in 1812 and revised two or three years later, Beethoven largely eschews virtuosic display until the very end, perhaps in deference to the limited keyboard technique of the work's dedicatee, Archduke Rudolf.


A four-movement concert suite drawn from the score of Stravinsky's ballet Le baiser de la fée (The Fairy's Kiss), the Divertimento blends his modernist musical sensibility with Tchaikovsky's Romanticism in a confection that is at once tenderly lyrical and irresistibly frothy. Stravinsky made the arrangement to play with his duo partner, Polish-American violinist Samuel Dushkin.

Program Notes
This performance is part of Great Artists II, and Great Artists II - Students.