Presented by The Organization

Performance Sunday, December 15, 2013 | 2 PM

American Symphony Orchestra

Strauss: Self-Portrait of the Artist

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
The American Symphony Orchestra offers its annual opera matinee with this concert performance of Richard Strauss’s one-act Feuersnot (In Need of Fire). Feuersnot tells the tale of a sorcerer who deprives a town of its ability to light fire, until they allow him to take the virtue of the mayor’s daughter.


  • American Symphony Orchestra
  • Leon Botstein, Conductor
  • Clay Hilley, Tenor (Schweiker von Gundelfingen)
  • Jeffrey Tucker, Bass (Ortolf Sentlinger)
  • Jacquelyn Wagner, Soprano (Diemut)
  • Brenda Patterson, Mezzo-Soprano (Elsbeth)
  • Cynthia Hanna, Mezzo-Soprano (Wigelis)
  • Micaëla Oeste, Soprano (Margret)
  • Alfred Walker, Bass-Baritone (Kunrad)
  • Branch Fields, Bass (Jörg Pöschel)
  • Daniel Scofield, Baritone (Hämerlein)
  • Chad Armstrong, Baritone (Kofel)
  • Ron Loyd, Baritone (Kunz Gilgenstock)
  • Adam Bielamowicz, Tenor (Ortlieb Tulbeck)
  • The Collegiate Chorale Singers
  • Manhattan Girls Chorus


  • R. STRAUSS Feuersnot


Pre-Concert Q&A with Leon Botstein at 1 PM

Event Information

By clicking the link below, you will be leaving the Carnegie Hall website.

Student and Senior Discount Tickets Available at the Box Office