Performance Thursday, April 18, 2013 | 8 PM

Mitsuko Uchida

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Writing in London’s Independent, Edward Seckerson gushes that Mitsuko Uchida is "peerless [and] magical.” She is an amazing performer, and in this recital her uncanny musical poise is on display.


  • Mitsuko Uchida, Piano


  • BACH Prelude and Fugue in C Major from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II, BWV 870
  • BACH Prelude and Fugue in F-sharp Minor from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II, BWV 883
  • SCHOENBERG Six Little Piano Pieces, Op. 19
  • SCHUMANN Waldszenen, Op. 82
  • SCHUMANN Sonata No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 22
  • SCHUMANN Fünf Gesänge der Frühe, Op. 133

  • Encores:
  • D. SCARLATTI Sonata in D Minor, K. 9
  • MOZART Andante cantabile from Sonata in C Major, K.330


  • Mitsuko Uchida

    Mitsuko Uchida is a performer who brings a deep insight into the music she plays through her own search for truth and beauty. She is renowned for her interpretations of Mozart, Schubert, and Beethoven, both in the concert hall and on recordings. She has also illuminated the music of Berg, Schoenberg, Webern, and Boulez for a new generation of listeners. 

    Highlights of Ms. Uchida's 2012-2013 season include a recital at Royal Festival Hall in London; performances with the Berliner Philharmoniker and the London Symphony Orchestra; as well as performing-conducting performances with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra in Spain and Portugal, and in the US with The Cleveland Orchestra and Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

    Ms. Uchida records exclusively for Decca. Her recordings include the complete Mozart piano sonatas and piano concertos; the complete Schubert piano sonatas; Debussy's etudes; the five Beethoven piano concertos with Kurt Sanderling; Mozart sonatas for violin and piano with Mark Steinberg; Die schöne Müllerin   with Ian Bostridge (EMI); the final five Beethoven piano sonatas; and Berg's Chamber Concerto with Ensemble Intercontemporain, Pierre Boulez, and violinist Christian Tetzlaff. She recently released a disc of Mozart's K. 488 and K. 491 concertos, followed by a second disc of K. 466 and K. 595; both recordings featured Ms. Uchida directing The Cleveland Orchestra from the piano. She also recently released an acclaimed disc of Schumann's solo piano music, featuring the Davidsbündlertänze and Fantasie. A third disc in the series of live recordings with The Cleveland Orchestra for Decca has just been released, featuring Mozart's K. 271 and K. 467 concertos. Additionally, a DVD featuring a live performance of Schoenberg's Pierrot lunaire from the Salzburg Festival and an accompanying documentary has just been released by Bel Air Classiques and Film+co.

    Ms. Uchida has demonstrated a longstanding commitment to the development of young musicians and is a trustee of the Borletti-Buitoni Trust. She is also co-director with Richard Goode of the Marlboro Music Festival. In May 2012, she was awarded the Royal Philharmonic Society's Gold Medal. In June 2009, Ms. Uchida was made a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

    More Info


Schoenberg's Six Little Piano Pieces Op. 19 (Leicht, zart)
Mitsuko Uchida, Piano

At a Glance

Tonight's program explores the polar extremes between Romantic expression and Apollonian restraint. It begins with two works from Bach's second book of The Well-Tempered Clavier, which achieves its restrained beauty through its elegance, formal order, and clarity. In contrast, the three works by Schumann at the heart of the program reflect the height of Romanticism, an era during which the emotional narrative and the subjectivity of the self were held in highest regard. Schoenberg's Six Little Piano Pieces synthesizes these two opposing trends by vacillating between careful reserve and wild Expressionism—the most extreme moments are tortured, individualistic, and emotional, yet exist in a hyper-compressed and orderly universe.
Program Notes

In a podcast recorded for London's Southbank Centre, Mitsuko Uchida discusses her Bach, Schoenberg, and Schumann program.
This performance is part of Keyboard Virtuosos II.