Performance Wednesday, March 19, 2014 | 8 PM

Leif Ove Andsnes

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
"This excellent Norwegian pianist plays with a rare blend of fluidity and control, and his [Beethoven] grew more daring and boldly profiled as the work progressed, ending with a finale that was irresistible" (The Boston Globe). The celebrated Leif Ove Andsnes surveys some of the composer’s greatest masterworks for solo piano that span the course of Beethoven’s prolific and celebrated career.


  • Leif Ove Andsnes, Piano


  • BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 11 in B-flat Major, Op. 22
  • BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major, Op. 101
  • BEETHOVEN Six Variations on an Original Theme in F Major, Op. 34
  • BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 23 in F Minor, Op. 57, "Appassionata"

  • Encores:
  • BEETHOVEN Bagatelle in E-flat Major, Op. 33, No. 1
  • BEETHOVEN Allegretto from Piano Sonata No. 22 in F Major, Op. 54
  • SCHUBERT Moment musical in A-flat Major, D. 780, No. 6

Event Duration

The printed program will last approximately two hours, including one 20-minute intermission.


  • Leif Ove Andsnes

    Leif Ove Andsnes has won international acclaim, giving recitals and playing concertos in the world's leading concert halls and with its foremost orchestras. Mr. Andsnes is also an active recording artist and an avid chamber musician, serving as co-artistic director of the Risør Chamber Music Festival for nearly two decades and as music director of California's 2012 Ojai Music Festival. He was inducted into the Gramophone Hall of Fame in July 2013.

    In the 2013-2014 season, Mr. Andsnes embarks on a new leg of The Beethoven Journey, his epic, long-term focus on the master composer's five piano concertos. Orchestral highlights include performances of the Second and Fourth concertos with the Los Angeles Philharmonic and the "Emperor" with the London Philharmonic Orchestra; as well as collaborations with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin; the orchestras of Munich, Stockholm, and Helsinki; and the Swedish and Norwegian chamber orchestras. He performs an all-Beethoven program in a 19-city solo recital tour of the US, Europe, and Japan, making stops at New York's Carnegie Hall and Chicago's Symphony Center, as well as in Princeton, Atlanta, London, Vienna, Berlin, Rome, Tokyo, and more. He rounds out the season in company with baritone Matthias Goerne, with whom he appears in four European capitals.

    Mr. Andsnes reunites with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra (MCO) for two European tours, showcasing Beethoven's Second and Fourth concertos in November and coupling the Fifth with his Choral Fantasy in May. Their recording of the Second and Fourth concertos will be released by Sony Classical in the spring as the second of three installments of The Beethoven Journey. Their first recording for the project (the First and Third concertos) was named iTunes's Best Instrumental Album of 2012 and received Belgium's Prix Caecilia award. The Beethoven Journey culminates next season when the MCO rejoins Mr. Andsnes for full-cycle residencies in North America, Europe, and Asia.

    Mr. Andsnes has received Norway's most distinguished honor, Commander of the Royal Norwegian Order of St. Olav; as well as the prestigious Peer Gynt Prize, Royal Philharmonic Society's Instrumentalist Award, and the Gilmore Artist Award. His recordings have been nominated for eight Grammys and awarded many international prizes, including six Gramophone Awards. Saluting his many achievements, Vanity Fair named Mr. Andsnes one of the "Best of the Best" in 2005.

    Mr. Andsnes was born in Karmøy, Norway, in 1970, and studied at the Bergen Music Conservatory under the renowned Czech professor Jirí Hlinka. He is a professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo and a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Music. In June 2010, Mr. Andsnes achieved one of his proudest accomplishments to date, becoming a father for the first time, and his family expanded in May 2013 with the welcome arrival of twins.

    More Info

At a Glance

Beethoven wrote 32 piano sonatas over the course of his career; other than his string quartets, perhaps no genre so manifestly traces the evolution of his compositional style. Piano Sonata No. 11 in B-flat Major, Op. 22—the first work on this evening's program—represents the culmination of his first period of piano music, achieving what is often thought of as the apotheosis of the "normal" sonata. The Op. 101 Sonata is a characteristic late-period work in its end-weighted structure, its fragmentation of form, and its incorporation of fugal counterpoint; and Op. 57, the "Appassionata," resounds with the confidence and emotional bravura of his middle period. Though undeniably more understated than the "Appassionata," the Op. 34 Variations—the only non-sonata contribution tonight—likewise demonstrate the ambitious character of Beethoven's middle period, as he self-consciously wrote them in "quite a new style."
Program Notes


Beethoven's Sonata No. 21, Op. 53
Leif Ove Andsnes, Piano