Performance Monday, April 7, 2014 | 7:30 PM

Khatia Buniatishvili

Weill Recital Hall
Khatia Buniatishvili is justifiably hailed as “one of the great pianists of the future” (The Guardian). Prizewinner of the Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition and distinguished as a BBC New Generation Artist, this emerging pianist has collaborated with many of the world’s premiere orchestras, and brings her “manic maelstrom of musical energy” (The Times, London) to her first recital for Carnegie Hall audiences.

This concert is part of Salon Encores.


  • Khatia Buniatishvili, Piano


  • LISZT Sonata in B Minor
  • RAVEL La valse
  • CHOPIN Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Minor
  • STRAVINSKY Three Movements from Pétrouchka

  • Encores:
  • HANDEL Minuet in G Minor, HWV 434, (arr. Kempff)
  • PROKOFIEV Precipitato from Piano Sonata No. 7 in B-flat Major, Op. 83

Event Duration

The printed program will last approximately two hours, including one 20-minute intermission.


  • Khatia Buniatishvili

    Born in 1987 in Tbilisi, Georgian pianist Khatia Buniatishvili was introduced to piano at age five, gave her first concert with the Tbilisi Chamber Orchestra when she was six, and appeared internationally at age 10. She studied in Vienna with Oleg Maisenberg, and she is a winner of the Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition.

    Ms. Buniatishvili is regularly invited to festivals, including Verbier, Lucerne, Ravinia, Aspen, Menuhin (Gstaad), Amsterdam, BBC Proms, Montpellier, Salzburg, La folle journée, Piano aux Jacobins, and Progetto Martha Argerich.

    In 2008, she made her US debut at Carnegie Hall in a performance of Chopin's Second Piano Concerto. Since then, she has performed with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra and Kent Nagano, St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, Gidon Kremer and his Kremerata Baltica, Sinfonia Varsovia and Maxim Vengerov, North German Radio Symphony Orchestra, Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, Verbier Festival Orchestra and Neeme Järvi, Zurich Chamber Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and Andrey Boreyko, Shanghai Symphony Orchestra and Mikhail Pletnev, The Philadelphia Orchestra and Larry Foster, San Francisco Symphony and Jaap van Zweden, Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, Munich Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris and Paavo Järvi, BBC Symphony Orchestra and Kirill Karabits, European Union Youth Orchestra and Vladimir Ashkenazy, and Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and Myung-Whun Chung.

    Ms. Buniatishvili has performed recitals in Amsterdam, Athens, Birmingham, Barcelona, Brussels, Munich, Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Cologne, Berlin, Hamburg, Rome, Florence, Prague, Warsaw, Paris, Stockholm, Vienna, Luxembourg, London, Singapore, and Vancouver. As a chamber musician, she has collaborated with Renaud Capuçon, Truls Mørk, and Sol Gabetta; in a trio with Gidon Kremer and Giedrė Dirvanauskaitė; and in a piano duo with her sister Gvantsa.

    Recent tours have included performances with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, Kremerata Baltica in Japan and Europe, Basel Chamber Orchestra, and in the US with the San Francisco Symphony under Vladimir Jurowski. She also gives concerts with London's Philharmonia Orchestra, Vienna Symphony, Orchestre de Paris, Swiss-Italian Radio Orchestra, Mai Musical Florentine, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Russian National Orchestra, and Munich Philharmonic Orchestra. She performs in a trio with Gidon Kremer in Naples, Siena, Venice, Florence, and Berlin; and gives recitals in Paris, London, Munich, Stuttgart, Baden-Baden, Barcelona, Tokyo, Luxembourg, and Prague.

    A BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist between 2009 and 2011, Ms. Buniatishvili regularly collaborates with BBC orchestras. She received a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award (2010), was nominated by Vienna's Musikverein and Konzerthaus as a Rising Star (2011-2012 season), and was awarded an ECHO prize (2012) in Berlin.

    More Info


LISZT Sonata in B minor, III. Allegro energico
Khatia Buniatishvili

At a Glance

This evening's concert presents four virtuosic piano compositions. Each half of the program begins with a high-Romantic sonata and closes with an arrangement (by the respective composers themselves) of an early-20th century orchestral masterwork.

FRANZ LISZT  Piano Sonata in B Minor

Liszt's monumental sonata can simultaneously be seen as a single-movement piece in sonata form and as a traditional four-movement piano work, complete with initial movement, slow movement, scherzo, and finale.


Many of Ravel's piano works represent orchestral pieces in their original form, while others are transcriptions of works that were originally for orchestra. La valse falls into the latter category, and the transcription expertly captures how its elegant waltzes devolve into disarray.

FRÉDÉRIC CHOPIN  Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Minor, Op. 35

Critics have long debated whether Chopin's daring work represents a conscious effort to revolutionize the structure of the conventional piano sonata, or, as Robert Schumann once wrote, is merely a binding together of "four of his wildest children."

IGOR STRAVINSKY  Three Movements from Pétrouchka

A decade after completing his celebrated orchestral ballet about the brief, dismal life of a puppet, Stravinsky arranged the work for piano on commission from Arthur Rubinstein.

Program Notes
The Distinctive Debuts series is made possible, in part, by an endowment fund for the presentation of young artists provided by The Lizabeth and Frank Newman Charitable Foundation.

Additional endowment support for international outreach has been provided by the Stavros Niarchos Foundation.
This performance is part of Distinctive Debuts.

Part of