Performance Wednesday, March 9, 2016 | 7:30 PM

Postponed: Yefim Bronfman

Zankel Hall
This event has been rescheduled for Saturday, June 18 at 7:30 PM in Zankel Hall. Tickets for the original date will be honored in June. If you have any further questions, please call CarnegieCharge at 212-247-7800.

Acclaimed for his Prokofiev interpretations, Yefim Bronfman continues his complete cycle of the composer’s piano sonatas, showcasing the complex harmonies and simple lyricism of Sonata No. 9, and the neoclassical style of Sonata No. 5. Bronfman is joined by violinist Guy Braunstein for the composer’s two violin sonatas. One of Prokofiev’s finest works, the Violin Sonata No. 1 is noteworthy for its first movement’s muted scales, likened by Prokofiev to “wind in a graveyard.” Legendary violinist David Oistrakh convinced Prokofiev to transcribe his popular Flute Sonata for violin, and the resulting Violin Sonata No. 2 is one of his most popular works.


  • Yefim Bronfman, Piano
  • Guy Braunstein, Violin


  • Piano Sonata No. 5 in C Major, Op. 38
  • Violin Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 80
  • Piano Sonata No. 9 in C Major, Op. 103
  • Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Major, Op. 94bis
This concert has been rescheduled for Saturday, June 18, 2016. Ticket or more information is available here