Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

Event is Live

Jean-Guihen Queyras
Alexander Melnikov

Wednesday, January 25, 2017 7:30 PM Zankel Hall
This starry cello and piano duo “combine a spectrum of tonal warmth with an exhilarating thrust of momentum” (The Telegraph). Their richly diverse program includes Beethoven’s most popular sonata for cello and piano, as well as highly emotive works from Schumann, Chopin, and Webern that explore contrasting sonorities and shifting dynamics. The tradition continues with the premiere of a new work by Yves Chauris that’s part of Carnegie Hall’s ongoing 125 Commissions Project.


Jean-Guihen Queyras, Cello
Alexander Melnikov, Piano


SCHUMANN Adagio and Allegro, Op. 70

YVES CHAURIS D'arbres, de ténèbres, de terre (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)

BEETHOVEN Cello Sonata in A Major, Op. 69

WEBERN Three Little Pieces for Cello and Piano, Op. 11

CHOPIN Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 65


DEBUSSY Prologue: Lent, sostenuto e molto resoluto, from Cello Sonata in D Minor

Event Duration

The printed program will last approximately two hours, including one 20-minute intermission.

Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Public support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by the National Endowment for the Arts.

Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.

Stay Up to Date