Presented by American Symphony Orchestra

Performance Wednesday, October 11, 2017 | 8 PM

American Symphony Orchestra

The Sounds of Democracy

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
American democracy was shaped by the ideals, vision, and principles of its leaders. The legacy of presidents such as Kennedy and Roosevelt inspired the music of Sessions and Bernstein as well as Copland, who wrote Canticle of Freedom in response to the assault on civil liberties during the McCarthy era.


  • American Symphony Orchestra
  • Leon Botstein, Conductor
    Pamela Armstrong, Soprano
    Bard Festival Chorale
    James Bagwell, Director
    Manhattan Girls Chorus
    Michelle Oesterle, Director


  • COPLAND Canticle of Freedom
  • SESSIONS Symphony No. 2
  • BERNSTEIN Symphony No. 3, "Kaddish"

Event Duration

The program will last approximately one hour and 55 minutes, including one 20-minute intermission.


Pre-Concert Talk at 7 PM

Event Information

By clicking the link below, you will be leaving the Carnegie Hall website.

Student Discount Tickets Available at the Box Office