Performance Saturday, October 14, 2017 | 7:30 PM

Takács Quartet

Zankel Hall
A deeply felt emotional expressivity binds these works from the Classical, Romantic, and 20th-century worlds. In Haydn’s quartet, the second-movement Largo is the work’s poetic soul—a profoundly beautiful meditation. Brahms, too, looks inward in his String Sextet in G Major with a five-note theme whose pitches spell the name of a lost love in an outpouring of uncommon beauty and wistful nostalgia, while Shostakovich mourns a lost friend with gripping music of uncompromising power and somber beauty in his String Quartet No. 11.


  • Takács Quartet
    ·· Edward Dusinberre, Violin
    ·· Károly Schranz, Violin
    ·· Geraldine Walther, Viola
    ·· András Fejér, Cello
  • Erika Eckert, Viola
  • David Requiro, Cello


  • HAYDN String Quartet in D Major, Op. 76, No. 5
  • SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No. 11
  • BRAHMS String Sextet in G Major, Op. 36
This performance is part of Chamber Sessions III.