Presented by Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

Performance Thursday, October 26, 2017 | 8 PM

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

From Piano to Pen

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Before they were famous composers, Mozart and Beethoven triumphed with their keyboard improvisations—now their present-day counterpart, jazz pianist Vijay Iyer, applies his creativity to music for Orpheus. Pianist André Watts returns to NYC after over a decade for a fresh look at Mozart’s most precocious concerto. Beethoven’s vibrant First Symphony caps this celebration of young risk-takers.


  • Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
  • André Watts, Piano


  • VIJAY IYER Asunder (NY Premiere)
  • MOZART Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat Major, K. 271, "Jeunehomme"
  • BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 1


This video content was provided by the presenter.