Performance Monday, October 30, 2017 | 8 PM

China NCPA Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Please note that due to an inflammation in his left arm, pianist Lang Lang has regrettably withdrawn from his performance. Haochen Zhang has agreed to perform in his place. The program remains unchanged.

One of China’s great orchestras makes its Carnegie Hall debut in a program that features a new work by Qigang Chen (music director of the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing) commissioned for the occasion and a classic from its homeland, along with Sibelius’s heroic Symphony No. 2. Haochen Zhang—gold medal–winner of the 2009 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition—is the soloist in the legendary Yellow River Concerto, a work beloved for its blend of Chinese themes, colorful Western orchestral writing, and devilishly challenging solo part.


  • China NCPA Orchestra
    Lü Jia, Music Director and Conductor
  • Haochen Zhang, Piano


  • QIGANG CHEN Itinéraire d'une illusion (US Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • YIN CHENGZONG / CHU WANGHUA Yellow River Concerto
  • SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2
This performance is proudly supported by ICBC U.S. Region.
ICBC (transparent) 2016
Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Mellon logo transparent
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
This performance is part of Concertos Plus.

Part of