Presented by Pro Musicis

Performance Thursday, November 9, 2017 | 7:30 PM

Juliann Ma, Piano

Rise, Awaken

Weill Recital Hall
Pro Musicis artist Juliann Ma performs her Carnegie Hall debut recital, attempting to tell the story of humanity’s relationship with nature: the primal joys of discovery by a Faun, destruction of the environment mourned by Sad Birds, rebirth in The Firebird, and transformations in the human psyche as portrayed by Scriabin, Bach, and Thomas Adès. Ms. Ma’s arts collective, SEAS, dances nature’s reaction to climate change in Ravel’s Sad Birds.


  • Juliann Ma, Piano


  • DEBUSSY Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (arr. Gryaznov)
  • SCRIABIN Piano Sonata No. 5, Op. 53
  • RAVEL Oiseaux tristes for Piano
  • BACH Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 903
  • THOMAS ADÈS Darknesse Visible
  • STRAVINSKY The Firebird (arr. Agosti)


This video content was provided by the presenter.