Performance Friday, March 24, 2017 | 7:30 PM

American Composers Orchestra

Orchestra Underground: Past Forward

Zankel Hall
Acclaimed for “consistently champion[ing] contemporary music with consistent excellence” (The New York Times), American Composers Orchestra showcases two premieres—one commissioned by Carnegie Hall—by two cutting-edge composers and a classic from Steve Reich, Tehillim (Hebrew for “psalms”). Inspired by cantillation he heard in Israel, Reich sets four psalms in an exotically scored and rhythmically invigorating work that pulses with life and is considered one of the modern master’s most thrilling compositions.


  • American Composers Orchestra
    George Manahan, Music Director and Conductor
  • Elizabeth Bates, Vocals
  • Rachel Calloway, Vocals
  • Martha Cluver, Vocals
  • Mellissa Hughes, Vocals
  • Oliver Hagen, Keyboards
  • David Friend, Keyboards
  • Mami Kosemura, Video Artist


  • DAVID HERTZBERG Chamber Symphony (World Premiere)
  • PAOLA PRESTINI The Hotel That Time Forgot (World Premiere)
  • TREVOR WESTON Flying Fish (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • STEVE REICH Tehillim


STEVE REICH Tehillim (Part I: Fast)
Steve Reich and Musicians

Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Public support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by the National Endowment for the Arts.
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
Steve Reich is the holder of the 2016—2017 Richard and Barbara Debs Composer's Chair at Carnegie Hall.
This performance is part of Zankel Sampler II.