Performance Sunday, May 7, 2017 | 3 PM

Emerson String Quartet
Maurizio Pollini

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
For more than 40 years, the Emerson String Quartet has held an honored place in the pantheon of great ensembles. Praised for performances that are "technically resourceful, musically insightful, cohesive, full of character, and always interesting" (The New York Times), the Emerson performs two 20th-century string quartet masterpieces by Berg and Ravel. Maurizio Pollini is, of course, the dean of pianists, and his mastery of repertoire spans the Baroque to the present day. Pollini makes a rare foray into chamber music when he joins the Emerson for Brahms’s dramatic and propulsive Piano Quintet.


  • Emerson String Quartet
    ·· Eugene Drucker, Violin
    ·· Philip Setzer, Violin
    ·· Lawrence Dutton, Viola
    ·· Paul Watkins, Cello
  • Maurizio Pollini, Piano


  • RAVEL String Quartet in F Major
  • BERG String Quartet, Op. 3
  • BRAHMS Piano Quintet


RAVEL String Quartet in F Major, Op.10 (Assez vif – très rythmé)
Emerson String Quartet

This performance is part of Great Artists II.