Performance Saturday, July 22, 2017 | 8 PM

National Youth Orchestra of China

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
The driving beat of taigu drumming, an African American spiritual quoted by a Czech master, and a beloved Russian concerto are featured in the inaugural performance of the National Youth Orchestra of China, a new ensemble launched this summer that brings together many of the country's finest young players. Zhou Long’s The Rhyme of Taigu depicts the energetic pulse of the Japanese taiku, or “fat drum” (taigu in Chinese) in vibrant orchestral colors. Dvořák’s fascination with Native American music and African American spirituals takes flight in his sweetly lyrical “New World” Symphony, while Tchaikovsky’s magnificent concerto is a richly romantic showpiece with pianistic pyrotechnics and soaring melodies.


  • National Youth Orchestra of China
  • Ludovic Morlot, Conductor
  • Yuja Wang, Piano


  • ZHOU LONG The Rhyme of Taigu
  • TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1
  • DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9, "From the New World"
Group Sales Request ›
The NYO-USA and NYO-China performances at Carnegie Hall are proudly supported by ICBC U.S. Region.
ICBC (transparent) 2016