Connect with Us


No results found.

All Results

No results found.

  • Carnegie Hall Presents
  • ZH Zankel Hall
  • SA/PS Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
  • REW Resnick Education Wing
  • WRH Weill Recital Hall

Sir András Schiff, Piano

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 8 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
URL Copied
Sir András Schiff by Peter Fischli
The fantasy, sonata, and suite are forms that inspired tremendous creativity in composers from Bach to Brahms. Mendelssohn’s Fantasia in F-sharp Minor unfolds in three movements, each imbued with simple, graceful themes. There’s nothing particularly English about Bach’s Suite No. 6, but it captivates with its balance of pulsing energy and tenderness. Brahms’s miniatures, particularly his fantasies, are quintessentially Romantic character pieces that evoke powerful moods with economy and great beauty.

Part of: Great Artists II

Sir András Schiff is also performing April 5.


Sir András Schiff, Piano


MENDELSSOHN Fantasia in F-sharp Minor, Op. 28
BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 24 in F-sharp Major, Op. 78
BRAHMS Klavierstücke, Op. 76
BRAHMS Seven Fantasies, Op. 116
BACH English Suite No. 6 in D Minor

At a Glance

FELIX MENDELSSOHN  Fantasia in F-sharp Minor, Op. 28

Together with the “Scottish” Symphony and Hebrides Overture, this evocative and technically challenging three-movement Fantasia—originally titled Sonate écossaise (Scottish Sonata)—reflects the impressions Mendelssohn gleaned on a visit to the Scottish Highlands.


LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN  Piano Sonata No. 24 in F-sharp Major, Op. 78

Beethoven had a special affection for this two-movement sonata, written in the wake of the “Emperor” Concerto. Commissioned by Muzio Clementi for his publishing firm in London, the F-sharp–Major Sonata is notable for its tonality—unique in Beethoven’s oeuvre—as well as its concision and dynamic energy.


JOHANNES BRAHMS  Klavierstücke, Op. 76; Seven Fantasies, Op. 116

Brahms lavished as much craftsmanship on his short piano pieces as on his sonatas and concertos. The capriccios and intermezzos gathered in his Op. 76 and Op. 116 attest his lifelong interest in the Romantic genre of the character piece, a vehicle for distilling a particular mood or musical idea to its essence.


JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH  English Suite No. 6 in D Minor, BWV 811

Bach devoted much of his time to composing didactic works for the keyboard. Among them were the six misleadingly named English Suites, which demonstrate the composer’s facility in the florid French idiom. Based on courtly dances of the day, the suites exemplify the elegant and melodious galant style that appealed to well-bred amateurs and cultured aristocrats alike.

Stay Up to Date