Connect with Us


No results found.

All Results

No results found.

  • Carnegie Hall Presents
  • ZH Zankel Hall
  • SA/PS Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
  • REW Resnick Education Wing
  • WRH Weill Recital Hall


Tuesday, July 24, 2018 7:30 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
URL Copied
Comprising a "remarkable array of talent" (The New York Times), NYO2 is an orchestral training program for talented young players ages 14–17 with a focus on recruiting musicians from communities underrepresented in classical music. NYO2 is joined by conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto and violinist Gil Shaham for a performance of Mexican and Russian masterpieces that include the vibrant suite from Revueltas's Redes, a Prokofiev concerto in which rich melodies frame a driving central movement, and Shostakovich's dramatic Symphony No. 5.

Save on your order now! Add a second NYO ensemble performance for 10% savings off all tickets, and a third performance for 20% savings.

Learn more about NYO-USA on July 19, 2018 and NYO Jazz on July 27, 2018.


Carlos Miguel Prieto, Conductor
Gil Shaham, Violin

Fellows of the New World Symphony, America’s Orchestral Academy


REVUELTAS SILVESTRE REVUELTAS Suite from Redes (arr. Erich Kleiber)
PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 1
- intermission -
NYO2 Makes its Debut

Drawing on the success of the National Youth Orchestra of the USA, Carnegie Hall’s Weill Music Institute launched NYO2, an orchestral training program for outstanding young American instrumentalists ages 14–17 with a particular focus on attracting talented students from groups underserved by and underrepresented in the classical orchestral field.

Lead Donors: Hope and Robert F. Smith; Marina Kellen French and the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation; and Beatrice Santo Domingo.

Leadership support for NYO2 is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Founder Patron: Beatrice Santo Domingo

With additional funding provided by the Arison Arts Foundation; and Ernst & Young LLP.

At a Glance

This concert presents three colorful, brilliantly orchestrated 20th-century masterpieces. Revueltas’s Suite from Redes (Nets), a film score from 1935, is a stark evocation of an impoverished Mexican fishing village and its exploitation by corporate interests. Full of biting, bitonal harmonies and vibrant rhythms, it preserves the essence of Mexican vernacular music without quoting it. Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto was written during the Russian Revolution, but well before the Stalinist era; he did not have to contend with the political crosscurrents that Shostakovich would face with his Fifth Symphony. The work is full of fantasy, excitement, and technical virtuosity—a contrast to the more classical Second Violin Concerto, written in the 1930s under strict Soviet constraints. Shostakovich’s Fifth—the Russian composer’s most popular symphony—was written during the darkest period of Stalinist oppression, and has set off an endless controversy about his ideological intentions and alleged musical codes. The music itself is powerful, emotionally varied, and exceptionally lyrical. Like many Shostakovich symphonies, it is indebted to Mahler, especially in its juxtaposition of the sublime with the banal, its fondness for marches, the garish folk tunes in the scherzo, and the hymn-like lyricism in the slow movement.

Stay Up to Date