Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

Event is Live
Presented by Mast Media

National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America in Seoul

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 8 PM LOTTE Concert Hall
LOTTE Concert Hall by Changhae Studio
The 106 musicians of the National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America (NYO-USA) make their debut appearance in Seoul on the final leg of the orchestra’s 2018 Asia tour. Michael Tilson Thomas leads a program that showcases his mastery of a wide range of repertoire, dedication to mentoring young talent, and commitment to the music of living composers. Jean-Yves Thibaudet performs Gershwin’s effervescent Piano Concerto—a touchstone work for both soloist and conductor—in a program that includes Sibelius’s heroic Symphony No. 2, as well as Brass Tacks by Ted Hearne, a new work commissioned by Carnegie Hall for NYO-USA.

{{link.PerformerName}}: Also performing .


Michael Tilson Thomas, Conductor
Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Piano


TED HEARNE Brass Tacks (commissioned by Carnegie Hall)

GERSHWIN Piano Concerto in F Major

SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2


SCHUBERT Rondo in D Major for Piano Four Hands, D. 608, "Notre amitié est invariable"

BIZET Farandole from L’Arlésienne

TRAD. "Longing for Mt. Geumgang” (arr. Lincoln Valdez)


Venue Information

LOTTE Concert Hall
Venue Website

NYO sponsor logos

Lead Donors: Hope and Robert F. Smith; Marina Kellen French and the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation; Beatrice Santo Domingo; and Nicola and Beatrice Bulgari.

NYO-USA Sponsors: Fubon Financial; Home plus and ING Life Insurance; and United Airlines®, Official Airline of Carnegie Hall.

NYO sponsor logos

Major funding has been provided by The Carl Jacobs Foundation; Jean Eric Salata and Baring Private Equity Asia; JMCMRJ Sorrell Foundation; Poongsan Corporation; PwC; and WEmusic Inc.

Additional funding has been provided by the Arison Arts Foundation; the Jack Benny Family Foundation; CHIMEI Culture Foundation; and Jolyon Stern and Nelle Nugent.

Founder Patrons: Blavatnik Family Foundation; Nicola and Beatrice Bulgari; The Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation; Marina Kellen French and the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation; The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Family Foundation; Ronald O. Perelman; Robertson Foundation; Beatrice Santo Domingo; Hope and Robert F. Smith; Sarah Billinghurst Solomon and Howard Solomon; and Joan and Sanford I. Weill and the Weill Family Foundation.

Stay Up to Date