Performance Tuesday, January 23, 2018 | 8 PM

The Cleveland Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
“It is music coming from another world—it’s coming from eternity,” said conductor Herbert von Karajan of Mahler’s Ninth Symphony. The composer's hallmarks are all present in his final completed work: sweeping breadth, profound emotion, a rustic dance, and unchecked ferocity. The ethereal finale is a serene farewell that sets grief, bitterness, and regret aside as it achieves transcendence.


  • The Cleveland Orchestra
    Franz Welser-Möst, Music Director and Conductor


  • JOHANNES MARIA STAUD Stromab (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • MAHLER Symphony No. 9
Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Mellon logo transparent
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
This performance is part of Great American Orchestras, and Mahler Symphonies.

Part of