Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

  • Carnegie Hall Presents
  • ZH Zankel Hall
  • SA/PS Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
  • REW Resnick Education Wing
  • WRH Weill Recital Hall

Ralph van Raat, Piano

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 7:30 PM Weill Recital Hall
URL Copied
Ralph van Raat by Simon van Boxtel
Ralph van Raat’s Carnegie Hall debut recital is surely one you will remember. The adventurous Dutch pianist plays world premieres of a new work by Louis Andriessen, commissioned by Carnegie Hall, and a previously unpublished composition by Pierre Boulez. If that wasn’t enough, he tackles Alkan’s Symphony for Solo Piano, a tour de force whose spectacular colors, quirky rhythmic turns, and sheer intensity make gargantuan technical demands on the pianist.

Part of: Distinctive Debuts


Ralph van Raat, Piano


ALKAN Symphony for Solo Piano from 12 Etudes in All the Minor Keys
LOUIS ANDRIESSEN Searching for Unison (Etude for Solo Piano) (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
DEBUSSY "Etude retrouvée" (1915; realized Howat)
BOULEZ Prelude, Toccata, and Scherzo (US Premiere)

Salon Encores

Get together with people who love music after this Weill Recital Hall concert for a free drink and discussion with the evening's musicians.
Learn more

Support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by members of Carnegie Hall’s Composer Club.

Distinctive Debuts is supported by endowment gifts from The Lizabeth and Frank Newman Charitable Foundation and the Stavros Niarchos Foundation.

Stay Up to Date