Performance Sunday, March 4, 2018 | 2 PM

Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin
Lambert Orkis, Piano

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Anne-Sophie Mutter has been called the “undisputed queen of the violin-playing” (The Times, London). Mutter, however, is not content merely sitting on the throne. She is constantly stretching her repertoire, refining her interpretations of classics and championing new music. On a program that includes Bach's Violin Partita No. 2 and Brahms's Violin Sonata No. 2, Mutter also gives the world premiere of André Previn's The Fifth Season, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall.


  • Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin
  • Lambert Orkis, Piano


  • ANDRÉ PREVIN The Fifth Season for Violin and Piano (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • BACH Violin Partita No. 2 in D Minor
  • PENDERECKI Violin Sonata No. 2
  • BRAHMS Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Op. 100
Lead support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Mellon logo transparent
Additional funding is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.
This performance is part of Great Artists II.

Part of