Performance Wednesday, April 11, 2018 | 8 PM

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Bernstein has four characters search for faith in a New York City bar while Shostakovich’s symphony flirts with danger. W. H. Auden’s poem “The Age of Anxiety,” an eclogue on man’s spiritual quest, inspired the pulsing jazz piano and vivid orchestral colors of Bernstein’s Symphony No. 2. Echoes of Mahler are evident in Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 4, especially the emotional arc of its finale. The composer cancelled the symphony’s 1936 premiere knowing its unorthodox style ran against Soviet cultural policy—a mistake that could have cost him his freedom or more.


  • Boston Symphony Orchestra
    Andris Nelsons, Music Director and Conductor
  • Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Piano


  • BERNSTEIN Symphony No. 2, "The Age of Anxiety"
  • SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 4
KPMG Logo 71x29
Sponsored by KPMG LLP
This performance is part of Carnegie Classics, and Russian Symphonies.